Ratings based on 4,273 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica, United States of America

Great Terrace location

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Great beds and pillows. Quiet rooms especially those away from the Terrace with Harbour views.
Cons: Buffet breakfast a little average
Location: Shopping and access to Lambton Quay via lift so great walking location around to Te Papa.
Great location easy to get to by car off the motorway or by foot from Lambton Quay. Rooms and foyer are modern and bright with ok bathrooms. Try for Harbour view rooms and if windy lower floors.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Japan

Excellent location, close to shops and waterfront

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Check in very smooth. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was good with egg station where omelettes, poached eggs etc. Could be prepared. Lifts take you down to the main shopping area. They are a little old and shaky. Shane the lobby coffee shop/ lounge is closed on Sunday's.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from christchurch

Great CBD location

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Location and facilities, pleasant and spacious lobby area. Evening piano music in the lobby adds a nice touch.
Cons: Hotel a little "tired" in parts.
Location: Great access to business and shopping. Excellent conference and meeting facilities.
The James Cook offers a true inner city location with easy access and egress from and to both The Terrace and Lambton Quay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nz

Very helpful staff and comfortable stay

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Staff helpfulness
Cons: Slightly dated decor
Location: Very nice hotel, we will stay there again
Very nice hotel with great helpful staff that make for a very comfortable stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from reno, nv

Must stay hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2016
A very comfortable clean hotel with helpful friendly staff. Had suite on top floors - must recommend that management/owners replace windows with double pane windows and reseal the caulking around the windows to help reduce outside noises and keep cold air outside. Cracked or missing seal causes air and sounds such as street traffic & crashing trash cans when dumping comes through and heavy rains mean drippings on window sills. These winds are cold causing he need for higher use of thermostats and loud noises prevents sound sleep. Outside of this, the hotel is very clean with amazing staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rangiora

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: The location was all we could have wished for with easy access to the main streets and wharf activities like the museum ect..
We had two double beds in our room,a single queen or king would have been better and provided more room within the room itself.Only one lounge type seat between the two of us ment one of us basically had to sit at the desk.We only had the breakfast meals here and they were 1st class. Your choice of either cereals, or cooked or if you liked even both.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Overall it was a good room, but the door was built for a hobbit. I had to bend down to reach the door knob.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chennai , India

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Very centrally located, Many Indian restaurant within walking distance
The room was neat & clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manawatu

Excellent hotel, but....

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: It was clean and comfortable
Cons: The dishonest staff, I wouldn't trust staying there again!
Location: Very central, very close to most of Wellington cities attractions
We enjoyed our overall stay, the front of house staff were excellent, but... We had left a puffer jacket in the room by accident, when we called the hotel to tell them, they said nothing had been handed in, so I called back the next day and they say nothing had been handed in. So they have some very dishonest staff members there who decided to take a new puffer jacket for themselves instead of being honest and handing it in! We will never stay there again for this reason alone!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Close to all amenities

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Great position in Wellington.
Cons: Not much
Location: Cloe to just about everything one would want to see or do in Wellington
Easy to find - staff very helpful - we chose 'Green' so did not require any cleaning etc. Nice to have a Voucher for doing this but did not choose to eat in the Hotel dining room - consequently no advantage or reward for us.