Ratings based on 4,052 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palmerston North

Excellent for central city visit with family.

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Central city, restaurant
Cons: Would have liked some plates and eating utensils in room, possibly a toaster.
Location: Central City, we visited Te Papa, Cable Car, Botanic Gardens, drove to the Zoo and toured the roads around the bays.
Terrific stay many thanks. Excellent service and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Very convenient for the city and waterfront

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Situation. Friendliness of staff security
Location: Great location. Easy walk to the waterfront, cable car and gardens. Handy for buses. Especially to the airport. Plenty of good eating places nearby.
The staff were excellent when we had to make an emergency booking due to our plane being cancelled because of fog and the airport being closed. They very kindly gave us a late check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Room was spectacular, late checkout and awesome gym facilities even though off-site. Helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rural Hawkes Bay

Very good inner city hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Unobtrusive efficiency.
Easy access to city centre activities, and helpful staff, accommodating without any fuss. As we were in Wellington for a wedding , we did not use the hotel dining facilities although we noted they were well used by other guests. Car valet service was efficient and avoided the usual frustrations of parking. All in all a very pleasant and stress free stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Nice hotel in middle of shopping area

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Location and staff pleasant and helpful
Cons: It would be good if coffee shop could be open at weekend.
Location: Nice walk down to quayside and easy walk to Cuba street.
A good hotel for a weekend away in Wellington. I like the location and I have stayed here before for the Wearable Arts which is at a venue that is in easy walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Well placed hotel. Excellent restaurant and for those who like views from high places lots of opportunity!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2015
James Cook is historically a good Wellington Hotel. It isn't anymore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in Wellington CBD

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pleasant hotel in a great location. We were there for an anniversary weekend to aee Elton John. Clean, unless you looked under the bed, which I did inadvertently just doing some stretches. Biggest complaint is the shower, which is over a bathtub a couple of steps up. This makes the shower head very low. Im a female of average height and I struggled. Very close to the ceiling and the tiled steps in and out of the tub looked treacherous, so extra caution is needed. Contorting oneself to get the top of the head wet isnt a good look.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Waynebb from Palmerston North

Long married

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
A very relaxing overnighter
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stacey99

hotel tired but rooms comfortable

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on HotelClub
I had a club room which was very spacious with access to a club members sitting room that provides complimentary finger food through the day and drinks and canapes between 5-7pm. I was working so didn't use the service but the club room has amazing views over wellington. The lifts were very old and broke down twice during my stay. Luckily I was not involved with either incident. Overall the hotel is adequate for work purposes. Gym was being renovated which was a pain. They did give you access to another gym off-site but that can be a pain.