Ratings based on 4,587 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Good location

Posted Dec 11, 2017
This hotel is my favourite in Wellington because of the location and also of its comfort. I love the brekafast and lunch buffet, it’s very nice. The lobby elevator connect to Lamton Quay which make it very convenient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Air conditioning needs fixing

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Great location and nice staff, but very hot, stuffy internal room, and air conditioning unit not strong enough to have any effect, so very uncomfortable spending any time in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great location and comfortable

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Centrally located and helpful staff - I needed to call to confirm details of my next accommodation and a few members of the staff helped with that.
Cons: Traffic flow at the entrance to the hotel.
Location: Close to Lambton Quay, Cable Car Museum, Customhouse etc. Walk to Cuba Street in 20 minutes.
The hotel is centrally located and there is convenient access to Lambton Quay via the elevator. The on-site valet parking service (with an additional charge per night) was fuss-free and appreciated. Breakfast buffet was good and the room was comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Excellent staff, great location at a reasonable price. Could not ask for more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great hotel, central location

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Staff were extremely accommodating. It felt very welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tauranga

Stay here often

Posted Nov 27, 2017
James Cook is always a pleasant experience - easy parking, convenient to Lambton Quay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Fantastic helpful staff and great location. Room mostly very good but bed not particularly comfortable and quite a lot of noise from water pipes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

center of the city

Posted Nov 17, 2017
The hotel is a short walk from the harbour and a quick tram ride to the botanic gardens. Clean and new.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable luxury, professional service

Posted Nov 12, 2017
A wonderful inner city break for friends to catch up for a few days and “do” Wellington. Only tiny gripe was one of the lifts was being serviced during our stay, so there was a slight delay for hotel guests. Otherwise everything else was lovely, We enjoyed our break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carterton NZ

Central Location

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: We liked it because it has a buffet menu that caters for all tastes.
Cons: The chef's on the hot plate both in the morning and evening are not always there and you may have to wait for them to turn up.
Location: It is in the centre of town close to all the amenities, including cable car and Te Papa museum which is a must even if you don't normally go to museum
Right in the heart of the city. Close to shops and cafes. Has it's own restaurant which you can choose either buffet or A la Carte.