Ratings based on 4,593 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northland, NZ

Sufficient and comfortable

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Close to all amenities. Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Room was looking a little tired, woodwork could be replaced and bathroom fittings show wear and tear. Windows were also drafty.
Location: I was on business, the location was central for all the meetings I had to attend.
I had a very pleasant stay and staff looked after me. Room was comfortable. Especially enjoyed my quick evening meal at Sojourn, just perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane

James cook grand chancellor Wellington new zealand

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Buffet great as ever. Liked the early bird discount for dinner
Cons: Not ne lift working, but not much of a wait
Good mini bar, however did not partake. Great smorgasbord, beautiful views from restaurant. Staff very pleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very good but beware the extras

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Cons: Include the parking in the room charge.
Very good hotel but hard to justify $30 to park your car overnight, and another $31 each to have breakfast. Plus beware they do not accept any Debit cards except NZ issued cards, so credit card only plus surcharge, or cash.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Expected more from a 4 star property.

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Room was small. Decor and furnishings looked like old office set up. Not convinced bed linen had been completely refreshed as there were hairs on the pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Good location

Posted Dec 11, 2017
This hotel is my favourite in Wellington because of the location and also of its comfort. I love the brekafast and lunch buffet, it’s very nice. The lobby elevator connect to Lamton Quay which make it very convenient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Air conditioning needs fixing

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Great location and nice staff, but very hot, stuffy internal room, and air conditioning unit not strong enough to have any effect, so very uncomfortable spending any time in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great location and comfortable

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Centrally located and helpful staff - I needed to call to confirm details of my next accommodation and a few members of the staff helped with that.
Cons: Traffic flow at the entrance to the hotel.
Location: Close to Lambton Quay, Cable Car Museum, Customhouse etc. Walk to Cuba Street in 20 minutes.
The hotel is centrally located and there is convenient access to Lambton Quay via the elevator. The on-site valet parking service (with an additional charge per night) was fuss-free and appreciated. Breakfast buffet was good and the room was comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Excellent staff, great location at a reasonable price. Could not ask for more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great hotel, central location

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Staff were extremely accommodating. It felt very welcoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tauranga

Stay here often

Posted Nov 27, 2017
James Cook is always a pleasant experience - easy parking, convenient to Lambton Quay