Ratings based on 4,249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chennai , India

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Very centrally located, Many Indian restaurant within walking distance
The room was neat & clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manawatu

Excellent hotel, but....

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: It was clean and comfortable
Cons: The dishonest staff, I wouldn't trust staying there again!
Location: Very central, very close to most of Wellington cities attractions
We enjoyed our overall stay, the front of house staff were excellent, but... We had left a puffer jacket in the room by accident, when we called the hotel to tell them, they said nothing had been handed in, so I called back the next day and they say nothing had been handed in. So they have some very dishonest staff members there who decided to take a new puffer jacket for themselves instead of being honest and handing it in! We will never stay there again for this reason alone!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Close to all amenities

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Great position in Wellington.
Cons: Not much
Location: Cloe to just about everything one would want to see or do in Wellington
Easy to find - staff very helpful - we chose 'Green' so did not require any cleaning etc. Nice to have a Voucher for doing this but did not choose to eat in the Hotel dining room - consequently no advantage or reward for us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napier

Excellent location with a comfortable room

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Central city location with everything within walking distance, park your car and get some exercise while strolling through the city - perfect.
The staff are welcoming, friendly and eager to please. The hotel is in an excellent location allowing easy walking into town, down to the waterfront and any night entertainment you care to indulge in. Our room was spotless with all the comforts you would require for a relaxed and pleasant stay. My only criticism would be one of the large windows which normally would be able to be cranked open slightly had been screwed shut due to the mechanism having been removed. The issue was the window was not fully closed and being on the 25th floor had a constant breeze blowing through the gap which created a low pitch howl and a draft, not a big issue I admit but in an otherwise top end hotel not something you should expect. The in house restaurant and bar was fantastic with a selection of dishes to cater for all age brackets and tastes and would easily match any of the dining establishments in the city centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. ..dated hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Everything was comfortable and clean and the location for us was fabulous. But our room (and the restaurant) was dated and needed a freshen up. There was no bedside lights which was annoying when our child went to sleep we couldn't read in bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Katikati

Great hotel within walking distance to "Must Do"

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Right in midst of cafes, shops, restaurants, and a short walk to waterfront, Te Papa, Cable Car and bus service virtually outside to other "must do"".
Cons: I believe their evacuation plans need to be reviewed, no wardens at exit of fire exits to direct patrons and seemed no one person taking charge.
Location: Loads to do, Te Papa a brilliant start. Weta workshop tour excellent and National War Museum. Zealandia a must do to see native birds in the wild.
Stayed 6 nights, last night we had to vacate building at 11.30pm due to a fire alarm, we were on 24th floor so a lot of stairs. After 1 and half hours outside in Wellington cold night air in night attire we were allowed back in, to find only one lift working to our floors. Guess it all added to experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dunedin

Central City Hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: A safe in the room. Sauna, spa and lap pool.
Location: WOW venue very close. Buses accessed by way of a lift and arcade. Highways on the Terrace.
Visited Wellington for the WOW and other entertainment. The James Cook is very well located for the WOW venue, shopping, other attractions and transportation. Hotel facilities were very good, bedroom well equipped and clean. Staff exceptional and friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfield, CA

Very convenient location.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Nice location in heart of shopping area.
Location: Easy access to Te Papa National Museum and restaurant area.
Enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff were great and helpful with suggestions of local restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo


Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: バスタブと無料wifiがあること。接客が丁寧であること。立地の良さ。
Cons: トイレや内装などが一部古いこと。
Location: メインストリートへは専用エレベーターを使えば遠回りせず便利。主要博物館や観光場所も徒歩圏内です。