Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
27% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Friendly, knowledgeable reception
Cons: Clean the kitchen and provide yea towels
Absolutely best thing about this accomm is the parking availability provided
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2017
no parking, even to check in, free street parking until 8am, showers and bathrooms dirty, staff weren't helpful with directions, bars, food choices, room had kids bunkbeds with child racecar mattress and plastic lawn chair, after hours code wouldn't work, had another backpacker try it and on his 3rd attempt it worked
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2017
im sorry but its not clean. it needs to be renovated
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fire alarm at 4 am

Posted Nov 30, 2016
It was a place to stay and that is what I needed at the time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Disappointing

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: It was inside out of the rain. Close to a bus stop.
Cons: The room was shabby, the kitchen area was a disgrace , the bathrooms, toilets & showers were abysmal. The whole place needs an upgrade. As a NZ'er I was ashamed that we allow overseas tourists to stay in accommodation such as this.
Location: Good location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cheap accommodation in central location

Posted Oct 16, 2016
toilet and shower facilities in desperate need of maintenance. entry cards need to be more easily identified. (tooo much alike) so that wrong cards are NOT constantly inserted in wrong slots. signs should be on doors to advise people to be quiet in bedrooms after 11pm and to respect those trying to sleep. staff were good, everything clean but showing wear and tear. nice atmosphere
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Beds were comfy and the room was relatively quiet. The bathroom and kitchen facilities were absolutely disgusting. Blocked sink in bathroom, toilet paper all over the floor, filthy toilets - we avoided where possible. (cafes and movie facilities in the area are great) Kitchen, sinks full of gross dishes despite notices threatening fines if caught not cleaning up after using the kitchen. Benches looked filthy and the floor was gross. I would not prepare food in this kitchen and would hesitate to even use the dishes. Carpets stained and dirty looking. Noise during the night sounded like cleaners collecting empty bottles from outside seating area. 3am crash and smash time? Not great for a restful nights sleep. Staff were well presented and pleasant. Management needs to up their game. Is this the kind of accommodation we want visitors to Wellington to experience? Cheap does not have to mean gross!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Z.

QUITE CHEAP

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: COMPETENT RECEPTIONISTS
Cons: TATTY ROOMS
Location: CLOSE TO WAR MEMORIAL AND TE PAPA, CUBA STREET;EATING PLACES.
HOTEL ROOMS ARE VERY TIRED LOOKING .IF A ROOM IS CLOSE TO THE LIFT THE NOISE IS LIKELY TOO DISTURB YOU. sOME ROOMS HAVE A LOT OF STREET NOISE. TAKE YOUR OWN TOWEL; A CHARGE OF $2 IS MADE.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hastings New Zealand

Was good but not great to recommend to a friend

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: It was easy to locate, nice area.
Room was clean, good comfy bed but had a broken window which made the room exceedingly cold and i had a group of people partying outside my broken window until past midnight, so no sleep at all!!! You should do something about curfew of the visitors and fix the amenities. Thank you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Worst hostel yet

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Felt very uncomfortable throughout our stay, couldn't wait to leave. Sick on the carpet, 1 shared bathroom for the whole floor, creepy cupboard in the corner, close to main road so very noisey. Felt like the room we got was not the one we saw on the website. And no mention about unisex shared bathroom for the whole top floor. Don't go here cause it's cheap. Spend a little extra and get a nicer room. We went the cheap option and haven't done since, learnt our lesson.