Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fire alarm at 4 am

Posted Nov 30, 2016
It was a place to stay and that is what I needed at the time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Disappointing

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: It was inside out of the rain. Close to a bus stop.
Cons: The room was shabby, the kitchen area was a disgrace , the bathrooms, toilets & showers were abysmal. The whole place needs an upgrade. As a NZ'er I was ashamed that we allow overseas tourists to stay in accommodation such as this.
Location: Good location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cheap accommodation in central location

Posted Oct 16, 2016
toilet and shower facilities in desperate need of maintenance. entry cards need to be more easily identified. (tooo much alike) so that wrong cards are NOT constantly inserted in wrong slots. signs should be on doors to advise people to be quiet in bedrooms after 11pm and to respect those trying to sleep. staff were good, everything clean but showing wear and tear. nice atmosphere
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Beds were comfy and the room was relatively quiet. The bathroom and kitchen facilities were absolutely disgusting. Blocked sink in bathroom, toilet paper all over the floor, filthy toilets - we avoided where possible. (cafes and movie facilities in the area are great) Kitchen, sinks full of gross dishes despite notices threatening fines if caught not cleaning up after using the kitchen. Benches looked filthy and the floor was gross. I would not prepare food in this kitchen and would hesitate to even use the dishes. Carpets stained and dirty looking. Noise during the night sounded like cleaners collecting empty bottles from outside seating area. 3am crash and smash time? Not great for a restful nights sleep. Staff were well presented and pleasant. Management needs to up their game. Is this the kind of accommodation we want visitors to Wellington to experience? Cheap does not have to mean gross!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.Z.

QUITE CHEAP

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: COMPETENT RECEPTIONISTS
Cons: TATTY ROOMS
Location: CLOSE TO WAR MEMORIAL AND TE PAPA, CUBA STREET;EATING PLACES.
HOTEL ROOMS ARE VERY TIRED LOOKING .IF A ROOM IS CLOSE TO THE LIFT THE NOISE IS LIKELY TOO DISTURB YOU. sOME ROOMS HAVE A LOT OF STREET NOISE. TAKE YOUR OWN TOWEL; A CHARGE OF $2 IS MADE.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hastings New Zealand

Was good but not great to recommend to a friend

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: It was easy to locate, nice area.
Room was clean, good comfy bed but had a broken window which made the room exceedingly cold and i had a group of people partying outside my broken window until past midnight, so no sleep at all!!! You should do something about curfew of the visitors and fix the amenities. Thank you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Worst hostel yet

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Felt very uncomfortable throughout our stay, couldn't wait to leave. Sick on the carpet, 1 shared bathroom for the whole floor, creepy cupboard in the corner, close to main road so very noisey. Felt like the room we got was not the one we saw on the website. And no mention about unisex shared bathroom for the whole top floor. Don't go here cause it's cheap. Spend a little extra and get a nicer room. We went the cheap option and haven't done since, learnt our lesson.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wont be recommending

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Lots
Cons: Too many to lise
Location: Location was fantastic I have to say
If you are wanting some place just to sleep then this is it. My wife and I had booked a double room and ended up with a bunk. We were on the entrance side on the first floor and as it was a weekend the noise was so loud and worst coming from the ground floor entrance and bar, music was loud and thumping, those that were in the bar congregated out the front entrance to smoke all huddle and blocking peoples way, worst of all the smoke waft through the windows and were no smokers in a non smoking, we should have just lit a packet of smokes in our room and smoked them cause that's how bad it was. Residence or in house guests were so noisy coming back to their rooms lots of banging and screaming. Its very cheap and you will get what you pay for. There is a disabled toilet which has a shower in it but no shower head, leaking taps, mouldy roof in the showers, wet and slippery and dirty from other people not cleaning up after themselves. The staff kept no record of payments, so seemed to be they were consistently having issues with many people waiting in line and online payments getting lost.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ニュージーランド

問題だらけ

Posted Sep 8, 2016
女性用ルームを予約したのに、女性用ルームはないと言われた。エクスペディアで女性ルーム1泊24$、だけど私が泊まれるのはミックスの12ベットルーム$19。エクスペディアですでに3泊予約していたので、24×3の72$払うはめに。翌日、マネジャーとはなして差額が返ってきたからまだよかったものの、部屋は通りに面していてうるさいし、イビキがうるさくて寝れなかった。次、泊まることはありません。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and Nasty

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Not much
Cons: Big revamp / renovation needed : Occupancy seemed good so presume owners are just creaming the profits
Location: Location ok
Old building that needs brightening up . Had people in courtyard talking loudly ( under influence ?) at 4.00am in the morning: Courtyard meant to close at 10pm : Not policed by Staff. We were 3 floors up and it was loud. Realise its a Backpackers but standards need to be lifted