Ratings based on 695 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Amazing decor

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The fabulous decor and ambiance
Location: Te Papa, close to a huge variety of restaurants, shops and movie theatres
I have stayed previously but I love its proximity to the city, to Te Papa and to my family who live in Mt Victoria
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic staff, easy walk to all city attractions

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Was a great weekend, easy walking to everything in city. Unfortunately undergoing refurbishments when we visited but the staff were fantastic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wairarapa

The "top spot"" in Wellington.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The outstanding presentation, furnishings& of course the artworks
Cons: It's already under an improvement project
Location: Adjacent to TePapa and handy to other waterfront activities plus theatres, restaurants & shopping
Well located, luxurious accommodation (despite current renovations), coupled with arguably Wellington's top restaurant. Always great experience & regretted that it was such a short visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Nice place.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Nice staff, clean room, nice view, nice artwork.
Cons: Safety, see earlier.
The staff tried hard to please, and the location is great. My biggest concern was that the driveway was also doubling as the footpath to the front door, no seperate footpath allowed for, no coned off area for people to walk, and a seemingly permanently parked taxi next to the front door. This is also unsafe. Cars turning off busy Cable Street could easily take out a nervous guest making their way up the middle of the driveway. This all may have been due to construction work in the hotel, but that is not really any excuse. And oddly, the restaurant seemed to be shut. Or just inaccessible. No sign of why.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hawkes bay

Lovely hotel nice helpful staff

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Central location
Location: Close to tepapa ,close to Boardwalk close to restaurants ,
Had great stay ,restaurant was being renovated but still doing meals ,lovely staff clean room nice food would stay there again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great hotel!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
I really enjoyed staying at the Museum hotel. The room was large and so was the bathroom. The bed was so comfortable with plenty of comfortable pillows. The hotel is very close to the main museum and many restaurants. As well as walking distance to everywhere in the city. Lots of great restaurants nearby and 2 supermarkets right next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Chris , Hotel Management
Dear NT, Thank you very much for the lovely review! We're lucky to be surrounded by Wellington's wonderful offerings! Kind regards, Chris
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blenheim

LOVED the Art and décor, Beautiful hotel,

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: LOVED its art and décor will definitely stay there every time I stay in Wellington if its available
Cons: nothing, loved it.
Location: across the road from Te Papa and water front, stroll to bars and restaurants, and we walked to Westpac stadium, about 30mins present walk.
LOVED the Art and décor! Beautiful hotel, also very clean, very friendly, helpful, profession staff, great location, walking distance to everything
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Chris , Hotel Management
Dear Emma, Thank you very much for the positive review! We're glad that you've fallen in love with us! We look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards, Chris
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Plymouth

Hotel for art lovers

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location, art works, comfort, very quiet.
Cons: On this occasion we were disappointed with the service in the bar - an order was forgotten and the error not noticed, even though the bar wasn't busy.
Location: Close to the waterfront, restaurants and a short walk to Cuba St and Courtney Place. An easy 30 minute walk to Westpac Stadium; closer to TSB Arena.
We stayed in an apartment at this hotel for one night and found it to be very comfortable, well equiped and well located. It is ideal for anyone wanting to self-cater as the supermarket, Saturday markets and an organic store are all very close.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Chris , Hotel Management
Dear Sandy, Thank you for leaving a review. Our apologies for our staff not acknowledging the error. We are happy to hear you were happy with your overall stay. See you next time, Chris
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dunedin

Loved the art and the pool

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Wotif
Central location made it easy to walk everywhere. Great facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Chris , Hotel Management
Dear Sharon, Thank you a great review! Kind regards, Chris
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Havelock North

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location.
Cons: Always find it unusual in this day and age when you are paying close to $300 a night for a room that they cannot throw in free wi-fi.
Location: Excellent location, handy to most of the best of Wellington.
Booked for 2 nights over Queens birthday weekend. Was a nice room, with a complimentary upgrade given to the executive King Suite. Lovely bathroom with a nice big bath and rainhead shower. Possibly could have arranged the lounge set up better with a sofa rather that a chaise, and mount the tv on the wall to free up some space in the room, as well as reduce the size of the desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to review our property in such depth. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Best, Chris