Ratings based on 1,164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central Hotel. Excellent for cbd

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Clean central friendly
Cons: Renovations a bit too intrusive
Location: A great hotel for all that Wellington has to offer downtown
We had a very comfortable room to start with only to be disturbed by renovation work being done on our floor. Without hesitation the Hotel staff moved us to another room in the apartment block which was more than comfortable. The decor is very different with some interesting artwork around. Breakfasts were good and access to downtown Wellington is the best. All the staff were fantastic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

This is the best Wellington Hotel I have stayed in

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Amazing!!! Everything about this hotel was perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

great location, hideous bathroom.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Nice staff.
Excellent location and lobby, pity about the black slime mould oozing out of the tiles around the bath. I realise they are mid refurbishment, but maybe they shouldn't be letting rooms that have such substandard features. Disappointed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from greytown

Great value!

Posted Aug 4, 2016
I was upgraded to an apartment which was lovely surprise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will be nice when the refurbish is finished

Posted Jul 22, 2016
They are refurbishing the hotel will be fab when done. The drilling was a bit painful. Excellent location and staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Fun and funky hotel near art and museums. Breakfast a bit sad and bathroom freezing but fascinating things to look at all over and freondyl Staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Nice hotel, good location

Posted May 22, 2016
Good hotel, wasn't so impressed with the buffet breakfast at Hippopotamus restaurant
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, Locations, Location!

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Loved the pool facilities and location.
Cons: Having a better craft beer selection at the bar (seriously!). It was a little strange to have to use a key to get into the room...
Location: Perfect. Wellington's a magnificent city and the Museum Hotel couldn't be better placed to make the most of it.
While every hotel tries to find it's point of difference, location is the one thing you can't change (unless, of course, you put your hotel onto a train and move it down the road... ha ha!). The ease of being able to access all that Wellington has to offer in the way of galleries, restaurants, theatres, the waterfront and shops made the Museum Hotel the perfect choice. It's also got the best pool and gym facilities of all the hotels I've visited in New Zealand (which is a fair number). So a great anniversary experience for me and my wife. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2016 by Chris , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for you positive review. We are thrilled we could make your anniversary a great experience and hopefully a treasured memory. Our ‘old fashion’ keys will soon be a thing of the past (together with an updated beer selection!). We are looking forward to seeing you again, Chris
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Excellent hotel

Posted May 1, 2016 on Wotif
Wonderful place to stay. Friendly staff hotel is very clean and stylish! Great location. Loved it here, would stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Chris, Hotel Management
Hello kate Thank you for the lovely review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again. Best, Chris