Ratings based on 1,185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Upgraded to a great room

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Great location near the museum and waterfront. We enjoyed a cable car ride and walk back down to the city through the botanical gardens.
When we arrived the harbour wing was being refurbished so we were upgraded to a great room in the apartment wing with fantastic facilities - it was a shame we were only staying one night and didn't really get a chance to benefit from them fully. Parking on site is limited and a bit confusing on arrival as taxis were blocking the area where parking was also being managed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite as good this time around.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: Centrally located across from Te Papa, with most of Wellington at convenient walking distance (which would be the case anywhere in the CBD)
We booked in February for a trip to Wellington and WOW and having stayed at the Museum hotel last year, we decided to go back. It turned out that last year we were definitely spoiled as the room this year was positively tiny with a view of a tin roof and not much else. Glasses were put back barely cleaned on the second day of our stay, a tissue box was not replaced and I freed the shower of three hairs that were not mine prior to the first shower. None if this is major in itself, but considering the cost of the stay at nearly $300/night I can be squashed and find hairs in a much cheaper and bigger room next time. Still, the concierge and front desk staff are terrific and Hippopotamus delivered an excellent meal and evening.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nelson

Doing there very best under renovations

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Very close to st james theatre
Well the. Staff are so proud of there product they were just amazing and did everything possible to make our stay seamless and not really aware of renovations. Room was great ....huge and only draw back was the lighting ....just a bit dark for us older of failing eye sight. Had a great stay and breakfast at their restaurant was just stunning and you could of had a Buffett as well.. Just a delightful, restful experience thank- you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland

Great hotel and great location

Posted Oct 7, 2016
We love this hotel. It never fails to impress. Staff and location are great and rooms are spacious and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

renovation mess

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Hotel being renovated. It is a mess in the lobby and elevator Staff is all new. They try hard but are inexperienced. I.e. My key did no work twice Convenient location Room clean and well equipped
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect Boutique Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
This hotel was fabulous. I loved the decor, location, and amenities. The only complaint I have (and it is very small) is that they seem to be in the midst of training a lot of new staff members. There were multiple times a more experienced front desk person had to fix a mistake made by an experienced staffer. Despite the minor training issues, this is the place to stay. Also - high tea at the reataurant is a must.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yes nice and close to everything,staff wonderful !

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: I liked that it was different but it needs updating.Rooms are tacky and need renovating.Downstairs Sauna budget and spa budget too.
Cons: Good to be different but its tacky not classy unfortunately.
Staff great !! Location great. Needs a lot of updating and rooms tacky.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central Hotel. Excellent for cbd

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Clean central friendly
Cons: Renovations a bit too intrusive
Location: A great hotel for all that Wellington has to offer downtown
We had a very comfortable room to start with only to be disturbed by renovation work being done on our floor. Without hesitation the Hotel staff moved us to another room in the apartment block which was more than comfortable. The decor is very different with some interesting artwork around. Breakfasts were good and access to downtown Wellington is the best. All the staff were fantastic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

This is the best Wellington Hotel I have stayed in

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Amazing!!! Everything about this hotel was perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

great location, hideous bathroom.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Nice staff.
Excellent location and lobby, pity about the black slime mould oozing out of the tiles around the bath. I realise they are mid refurbishment, but maybe they shouldn't be letting rooms that have such substandard features. Disappointed.