Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Good location but noisy

Posted Apr 7, 2017
We were going to an event at the Michael Fowler Center and this was only thirty seconds walk away so great location. The breakfast pancakes and light dinner were a great, free addition. However the first night people were noisy until 130am then the doors began to open and slam closed at 6am. Great that people want to get up and moving early but the doors are super heavy so they slam shut unless you help quietly close them. Little sleep was had. We had a queen and single ensure room. Very small, just barely big enough to get between the beds. The staff said we might be able to check in early but we had the same response each time we asked 'none of the rooms are ready.' Seriously, at 115 when check in is 2, none of the rooms are ready? I find that hard to believe especially when we were told at 10 they'd just gone up to start housekeeping. More a case of can't be bothered to check so just had the standard answer. Don't say you might have early check in if you don't intend to even find out. Meant our luggage was left unattended for a very long time so we could get to our event because even though they have a luggage room, it was waist high with bags already. For the money, I wouldn't stay there again. Conveniently close but way over priced for a room like that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central Wellington. Close to wharf

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: C above. Clean bedding, always great.Fantastic that it is a 'dry' hostel and that the 'bar' attached, far enough away to not be noisy.
Cons: Cleaners could clean behind the toilet bowls? Water from shower on Monday was still there Friday. Warn if there is going to be a 'mixed' dorm room.
Location: As above. Close to everything in a city. X
Welcoming. Loved the pancakes n dinners! A treat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Very noisy with new rooms

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Free breakfast and even small dinner via a vocuher card at check in. Everything is renovated and modern.
Cons: Noisy and pricy
Location: Location is pretty central, everything is in walking distance
It has very new and spacious rooms and is comfortable but very simple no extras such as a table, closet etc. Rooms and bathroom facilities are clean. It was very noisy at night and a lot of party going on, so pretty hard to sleep. The price for this simple room is overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Wow! Great place.

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Wotif
Location: I don't think you can get a much better location to the desirable Cuba street food options and waterfront.
I can't recommend this place high enough. The staff were great - Rachael in particular who was an incredible help via email around advising my options on getting from the airport to the hostel as well as getting from the hostel to a local hire car company in the other side of town. Also one small thing she did demonstrated she is VERY switched on as well as customer focused. My only very minor complaint was a small noise during the night emanating from a fire detection panel on the wall. Love the self-serve morning pancakes on offer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

was a solid place to stay :)

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: location and facilities
Location: central so we could walk everywhere - wellington was buzzing with a variety of activities we could - went into turbo to see/do as much as possible
had an awesome time in wellington - great accommodation was a huge benefit - thanks team :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Wotif
Description didn't match room type quite disappointed for the price. Good location for the cbd though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to it all

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Wotif
Terrible WiFi but free food. Can't really complain about much.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels