Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for money

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Nice & clean hostel, close to shops & restos in the city. Free pancakes for breakfast. Great overnight stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Sehr schönes Hostel mit direkter Nähe am Hafen und der Innenstadt.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could have been more considerate

Posted Nov 29, 2015
I think it was a really bad situation that I had been placed in as what my Itenary had said and did not know that what I did was wrong at the time I deeply apologised as did not realize that what I had done was wrong to begin with I think I should have been reimbursed very upsetting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Centrally located backpackers

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Nice old building. Was very busy but organised.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: Very central. Close to shops, cafes, Te Papa museum. Walking distance to Westpac Stadium & TSB arena.
Just what we wanted - a bed & bathroom. Free breakfast was a bonus and also free dinner if we wanted it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: It was central
Cons: Lots
Wasnt at all impressed, the bedding was filthy - not sure how many people had slept in there before me. Really uncomfortable saggy mattress. Staff unwelcoming and unhelpful. Dont expect to stay there and get a good nights sleep - really noisy all night. Sorry for the bad review but really cant think of anything positive to say.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Reducing the noise coming from the bar - eg past midnight
Location: Great location - Cuba Street, Te Papa, Courtney Place all nearby...
We choose Nomads due to location and price. The central location is fantastic and a private room for 2 or 3 is reasonably priced. The room was clean, bathroom adequate and free pancake breakfast good - queue up and cook your own! A huge downfall was the loud music coming from the bar next door, on Monday night (bar linked to hostel). We were on the third floor and could feel the bass, singing and shouting till almost 1am. Could also smell the smoke from the smokers outside - windows were shut. Our Saturday and Sunday evening stays were quiet and comfortable but the Monday night was quite unpleasant. Bring ear plugs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect central location

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Wotif
Great location have been here a few times and always a good stay. Warm, clean and comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by WON from busan

cool!

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
reaaaaaaally great
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rudest Receptionist Ever

Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The room was clean.
Cons: The receptionist could be put through some customer service professional development.
Location: Great location in the middle of wellington.
After arriving late to check in 9 pm after a long haul flight we were told our room had been sold and the place was fully booked and the only room available was a double bed for three people.The receptionist was unhelpful and rude to us and made us feel like it was our problem.I asked what she was going to do about it and she just shrugged her shoulders.I came up with the suggestion of putting a mattress down on the floor which is what happened.We waited 30 minutes downstairs a metre away from her and our room had been ready for at least 15 mns and she just sat there until I asked her if it was ready.Another person who was working with her arrived and she complained to him about us with us standing a metre away.I would like to complain about the service but I didn't get any!