Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
I have stayed at Ohtel previously and enjoyed the experience. Unfortunately, on this stay the room was not clean and tidy on arrival. In fact it looked like someone had stayed in the room briefly and then left. And the Wifi was unreliable. Overall, it was a disappointing experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Mid century style AND service

Posted Jan 29, 2017
A lovely position and lovingly decorated the Ohtel is unique. Our room was well decorated but dark and almost windowless. The bathroom has no door which benefits no one except the builders who do one less installation. The staff are very friendly but lack international hotel finesse. Some of their efforts were well meaning but amateurish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Funky, charming hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Ohtel oozes charm and character. The staff were friendly and the room was very chic. Only downsides were the double bed was two single mattresses popped together and the small lift jumped around a lot when it reached the top floor - not great for those who don't like lifts like me! But otherwise it was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Quiet, great location!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
A small hotel, but fantastic staff. Close to the supermarket and some fab restaurants. Across the road from TePapa. Definitely recommend for a business trip stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

Excellent boutique hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Wotif
V easy to CBD and airport. Quirky mid century furniture. Brilliant staff. Great coffee. Beautiful double room. Aircon would benefit from more power (it struggled). Stunning bathroom. The most comprehensive minibar I have ever seen including diy cocktail instructions! Great attention to detail in all the little things that make a difference.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you go to Wellington, stay at Ohtel!

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
I loved this hotel. Great design and style, but what stood out the most is the customer service. Every person I encountered here was fantastic and provided the best service I've experienced in any hotel in any country. They're warm, helpful, and friendly -- and make staying at Ohtel feel like home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for a morning run or walk around the harbour

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Good place, friendly, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Friendly staff and nice hotel. Unfortunately the bathroom did not have a door and had a curtain - which would be ok except it had a gap that wouldn't stay shut which happened to be right next to the toilet. I would suggest reversing the curtain opening to the other side in room 3. Other than that it was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Wotif
Excellent, funky boutique hotel, warm welcome and lovely room. A door rather than a curtain for the bathroom/toilet would be less challenging. Definitely recommend and will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Lovely friendly place for a quiet get away.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Friendly Staff.
Cons: Small coffee cups.
Location: Close to the waterfront and Te Tapa
The staff were very friendly and helpful, advising us on where to park for the weekend and things to do around the hotel. The room was clean and wonderfully presented. We only had one issue, the coffee cups were tiny, frustratingly tiny.