Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but nice.

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Only ten rooms but quiet and has all the necessary amenities. Little traffic noise and close to Restaurants and Bars. Look forward to the renovations converting existing Bar and Dining area to Wine and Pasta Bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Extremely handy to Courtenay Place, Te Papa and Oriental Bay. Loved the retro decor and the bath. Great view of Waitangi Park which had a family circus going on so plenty to look at, as well as the marina.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Excellent Spot and well managed

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Location is excellent. Decor is very cool.
Cons: A bit more space in the cafe/breakfast bar.
Location: Close to restaurants on Courtney and very handy to Te Papa or a pleasant waterfront walk to CBD for business
Unfortunate timing as painters were working in hallways during my stay so a bit of noise, but I understand these things need to be done, but a warning on booking would have been courteous. Full price was charged despite the work being undertaken which whilst not a major, is a bit cheeky. Otherwise, this is an excellent spot to stay and I would happily recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whangarei

Lovely Boutique Hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: Loved the bed.
Cons: Maybe making the TV swivel so as you can watch it while in bed.
Location: Across the road from the waterfront and very close to Courtney Place with all the eateries.
Had a really nice stay of 3 nights here. Owner and staff are really nice and friendly. Very close to the water front easy walking to most things. Bus outside the door. Keep up the good work. Will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Best hotel in Wellington, location, cleanliness and staff were top quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

Great lil stay

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Such a good location. Staff are fab. Probably wouldn’t choose the ground floor room again though. Love the decor and feel of Ohtel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
..........................,,............................,,.,,,,,..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Nice hotel pity about the noise.

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: The rooms were nicely laid out and spacious.
Cons: Install double glazing. Parking - to be fair though the hotel website advises this is an issue.
Location: Close proximity to the harbour, Te Papa and Restaurants.
The staff were friendly and the hotel room was nice, however the street noise made for a restless stay. Oriental Parade is a busy street and on Saturday night it was very noisy. Including, drunk people parking up across the road to continue drinking. Which brought the police to enforce the liquor ban. Given the high traffic volume, proximity to Wellington Central Fire Station, and steady stream of drunk people until about 5am, the hotel would benefit from installing double glazing. Check out went smoothly, but awkward as the reception doubles as the cafe, so we were checking out in the middle of other people’s breakfast. It was also delayed as the guy on reception was also the barista, waiter and cafe staff. The rooms reflected a boutique hotel, but the service and noise was more resembled a Bed and Breakfast. Disappointing given the room rate cost.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Interesting layout, great room.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: It’s a little different
Cons: A plate or two for those who like their breakfast in their room.
Location: Great spot in a beautiful bay, lovely casual walking spaces to hand!
A quirky hotel with very friendly folk. I left my charger behind and Cameron contacted me by email so I could arrange to pick it up. Very impressed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whangarei

Close to everything

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Location: Oriental Parade, Te Papa, many eateries, Government House not far, Mt Victoria easy access.
From the minute we walked in the door we felt welcome. Ashley spent time showing us on the map the best routes and places to explore (time for us was very limited so we wanted to make the most of our visit). We were given an upgrade which was most unexpected and much appreciated, breakfast was available with many choices. Overall would definitely recommend.