Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
The location was great - close to the city and Mount Victoria. However, the staff were non existent. I went to check out at eight am and there was no one around. I stayed for three nights and my sheets weren't changed once (although I did get fresh towels and a newspaper every day). There were no bin liners in the rubbish bin and that didn't get changed during my stay, nor was the bathroom cleaned. The bed was comfy, the room was warm enough if a bit musty. There was no tv in my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very kind and genuine

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and friendly staff
Location: very close to central but far enough to be a quiet area. lots of public transport. close to waterfront and supermarket
Had an amazing experience here! The owner and all staff members go out of their way to help you out. Very friendly and facilities are all extremely clean beyond expectations! I will definitely be staying at Richmond again next time I visit Wellington :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, England

Easy to find

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Very conveniently placed for the centre of the town, which is very walkable, close to Te Papa museum and shops
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great budget hotel close to Wellington CBD

Posted Dec 5, 2016
We enjoyed our stay very much. I was surprised that for such a budget hotel we got a lovely big room. The owner was extremely nice and gave us a permit to be able to park the car on the street. The breakfast was a nice addition to the nice room we got. There is no need to cancel trips to New Zealand as it is safe so far. I would recommend this hotel as for me it was a very nice experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable Wellington.

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Easy to find. Comfortable. Very helpful proprietor. Would use again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great value!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Host was very helpful. Room was clean and pleasant. It is a short 15 walk into downtown and a 7 minute walk from the airport flyer so very handy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute and different. Perfect location

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Room was comfortable. Decor was eclectic....enjoyed all the different pieces of furniture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson

Great location. Value for money

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Beautiful presented rooms. Our room and bathroom was clean and spacious. We enjoyed that the kitchen was available anytime for a cup of tea and coffee and the breakfast offered was fantastic. The location was great and the manager was lovely and very helpful. We'll definitely be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last Resort

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Lastminute
Stay here for a cheap inner city option but the manager is very grumpy, pedantic about breakfast times to the point of saying if you'd got here 5 mins later I wouldn't have let you sit down, and my partners question of where are the spoons was met with a blank stare followed by a slow 'everyone else has found one' and seems to not want us there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by johno, Hotel Management
Ok so lets be accurate shall we, that morning i actually started breakfast at 6 .40 for some nice folk as they had an early start so i had to be in at 6.30 and you were informed of the breakfast time 7 to 9 am .and to be honest even if i made the breakfast time 7 to 11 am there will always folk who will com in at 10.55 am so one cant win, but most folk are polite and realize that my breakfast time is long enough . so sorry that your feelings were hurt but i believe my breakfast time is long enough
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to visit

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was very good this was a nice place to stay and very reasonable. There was also free parking and Wellington has lots of good restaurants and places to see