Ratings based on 2,653 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Maintenance people, maintenance.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Location. Not much else.
Cons: new firm beds for a start. some active maintenance, a little work with a paint brush wouldn;t hurt either. New AC units or proper room heating.
The AC was broken. They fixed it, but it was a struggle to use. The hair dryer caught on fire while I was using it. the beds were aweful, soft and old feeling. The breakfast was a madhouse. There were no vegan options apart from heavily salted potato. the coffee (which costs extra) was bitter and burnt tasting. We left a day earlier than our booking. the helpful receptionist was very clear. "You will not get a refund. and no, not even a partial one." So we won;t be returning to Rydges Wellington.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel nice and central friendly staff

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: central location nice room comfy bed and good staff
Cons: nothing happy
Location: good location very central to shops , restaurants ,rugby stadium . te papa and cuba street and courtenay place
a great experience close easy walk to tepapa and to the cake tin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The Campbells hit the cold south!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Don't know.
Location: Te Papa. ToyWorld shop. Old bank Arcade.
I love Rydges and wanted to treat my family to the best hotel I know in Wellington. The kids loved the pool and the Portlander is a fabulous restaurant. Thanks for making our stay so fab!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gore, NZ

Great place to stay, Great people working there

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Good location, very handy to everything. Easy walking distance to centre of town attractions. Definitely recommend to anyone staying in Wellington.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel choice in Wellington City

Posted Jul 11, 2017
A very enjoyable hotel to stay in all areas. All staff very professional and helpful in their designated duties. Found the pillows too high the first night so rang reception to request flatter ones which arrive within minutes. Beds are divinely comfortable. Breakfast choices are the best I have come across in a NZ hotel. Many healthy options also if you wish! Heated pool and spa was great after a days shopping! Very central location that is within walking distance to many places of interest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: That is for Management.
Location: Central
Cold room with heating problem. Rudeness at Restaurant exit. Back to James Cook!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Well-located hotel near the waterfront

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed, good location, friendly staff.
Cons: Police the guy playing the drums outside the hotel on Sunday morning
Location: Very close to the waterfront and a lovely walk along the harbour to attractions and restaurants in Wellington.
Good location, in walking distance along the waterfront to Te Papa Museum and Courtenay Place with it's vibrant atmosphere and excellent choice of restaurants. Room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well laid out. There was a kitchenette with sink, microwave, kettle, fridge and a mini bar. The view from our 'cityview' room was partially obscured by another building but we could see the harbour water from one side. Sleep was a little disturbed by slightly noisy pipes and someone playing the drums outside our window early on Sunday morning, but this is hardly the hotel's fault. We had a drink in the bar which was comfortable, nicely decorated and well-patronised. Overall I can recommend Rydges Wellington and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Great hotel only a few minutes walk from station and the waterfront. Very helpful staff who sorted out my room heating very promptly and brought me extra blankets in case I was cold. Nice room with kitchen area including microwave. Swimming pool ideal for early morning swim.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Awesome stay in Wellington

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Lovely breakfasts Friendly staff Easy check in and out Comfortable bar Excellent room facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend in Wellington

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Good position close to everything. Large bathroom with bath.
Cons: Pillows were dreadful unfortunately.
Were able to check in early which was very convenient as we were then able to get out unencumbered with luggage. Spacious room with view of harbour.