Ratings based on 2,460 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, NZ

Very nice for a weekend away

Posted Dec 5, 2016
The room was very comfortable with excellent views of the harbour. Very quiet but still walking distance to everything we wanted to do. The hotel restaurant was excellent also.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napier

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Parking available and central location
Location: Location was within walking distance of town and Westpac stadium.
very enjoyable stay, clean, tidy with helpful staff. Would recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchuch

Nice hotel close to Stadium

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Handy location easy walk to Show at the Stadium. Handy to shopping. Nice Restaurants close-by.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel always stay there!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
My go to hotel when in Wellington. Great rooms with amazing beds. Great hotel bar and amazing food in the hotel restaurant. Try the cheese burger it's epic!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the city

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, clean and tidy room with great facilties (toaster, kettle, hob, fridge). Modern bathroom with anti-steam mirror and auto night-light.
Stayed two nights in a twin queen room with a friend and two 3 year olds. Staff were helpful when we called after the 2016 earthquakes to check on the status of the hotel and the city. Decided to go on with our plans for a weekend in Welly regardless.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Goodyear, United States of America

Choose this hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Stayed here for only one night, while traveling through Wellington. Was prefect as close to the ferry station for catching the ferry. Also easy waking to habor,shopping and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AKL

Excellent comfort and great bar!

Posted Nov 18, 2016
The rooms were tidy and the hotel is placed centrally. The bar is excellent with friendly staff. Overall a great experience for the family. Being upgraded to sea view was an icing in the cake.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Modern business/tourist hotel close to city centre

Posted Nov 17, 2016
A modern hotel well placed for city centre attractions of Wellington. Clean and tidy room with decent facilities for cooking and tea/coffee making. Good range of stuff in minibar by NZ standards. Breakfast is buffet and is a little chaotic at peak time but all the usual Brit/American foods are available. Strongly recommend guests to book parking well in advance otherwise you will be queuing to get a spot in the street side drop off zone before trying to find a space in nearby multi storey parking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Calm and safe in an earthquake

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: There was a 7.5 earthquake during the night while I was staying at this hotel. The staff were great, keeping everyone calm, telling us what was happening and what to do, bringing blankets an hot chocolates. Also reassuring us that it was one of the safest buildings in Wellington. The building stood up really well to the quake, swaying with it and suffering no damage other than a few minor cracks in walls and ceilings.
Cons: Windows to my room didn't open so could only have air-con air.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceptional team

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Comfy bed and building was safe in the earthquake
Cons: They couldn't help the earthquake!
I stayed here the night a 7.5 earthquake hit in NZ and was felt in Wellington. When I ventured downstairs there was an incredible sense of calm. Rydges staff were making sure guests were settled, comfortable, warm and had water, coffee or snacks to eat while we waited together. Everyone was kept informed of updates and despite the chaos there was calm. In the morning staff who had obviously been on duty all night continued to conduct their duties with professionalism and courtesy. Thanks Team Rydges!