Ratings based on 1,647 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Jan T

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Sorry, We had a car accident on our way to the hotel so could not stay the night. I'm sure it would've been lovely there. Next time when we are back in Wellington I will book there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Levin, NZ

central, modest, good value

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: central, comfortable and reasonable rates
Cons: warmth of room, proper (safe and legal) drop off area
Location: central, plenty of sights, shops, restaurants and nightlife within easy walking distance in any direction, plus bus routes all nearby
overall we had a good stay. staff are efficient and well mannered. room compact but well equipped and clean with ample bathroom. room heating minimal. bed comfortable but needed to ask for extra blanket because we prefer not to use the electric blanket. outside noise and room temperature control could be helped by adding double glazing to external window. central location very handy but no designated drop off area in front of hotel so we parked on yellow lines outside hotel entrance but traffic had to pass close to our car and worse still a parking warden photographed our car as our friends were driving it away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was fine

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Really pleased with lobby staff. Room was very small and a little worn-looking--also had dust on bathroom floor, phone, bedside table cupboard, and other minor places (so not great attention to detail). Noise from the rooftop bar when it was open (I was on top floor). Rooftop bar was glorious--and the downstairs restaurant and bar it belonged to was great: great food, and service. A couple of instances of unprofessionalism from hotel mgmt/staff but overall, in my limited experience, it was pleasant enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Great location, great staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Close to everything. Check in was quick. The room was great and the bed was very comfortable. All the staff were friendly. I had breakfast one day at the associated restaurant/bar, which was tasty. The best part about this hotel? It was not that far from Garage Project, one of the worlds great breweries. Loved Wellington, can't wait to go back and I will be staying here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Invercargill

CBD Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Double plug for the electric blanket
Location: Food market and central city all close by
Hotel fine as aware before we arrived Lift not working. Only issue is there was no double plug for the electric blankets to work on both sides of the bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mount maunganui

Nice central hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
good hotel and a good price. clean but the décor is a little outdated
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2017
The room we stayed in was very cold and did not have any heating available to warm the room up. The bathroom was very dirty and the shower door did not shut. There was mold growing in both the bathroom and the window frame of the bedroom. The location was great but would not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Central

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Comfortable room with all necessities. Only negative was that I think cleaner forgot to clean thoroughly. Empty shampoo bottle in the shower. Made me think did the cleaner actually clean or just tidy up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Lovely hotel with clean rooms and polite staff. A big plus was the Arborist restaurant which has delicious food and cocktails at reasonable prices!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Hotel central to town

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Very clean and restaurant attached.
Cons: Weather was terrible while up there so the foyer could be pretty slippery, even with signs out warning this!
Location: Very close to Victoria Halls so handy when visiting campus, walked to Te Papa and waterfront and great shopping downtown
Stayed when lift was out of action so rates were cheap, just had to climb 4 levels of stairs. Staff were very accommodating and cheerful and the restaurant next door has great food.