Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairlie NZ

Good facilities, central location

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Good central location, perfect for exploring Wellington.
Cons: windows rattled in wind..
Location: Some great cafes near by and close to shops.
Good night away, ensuite room was fine for just the one night. Central location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great spot

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Right in town and next to supermarket, bars and restaurants. Clean and well maintained facilities, easy and simple stay no issues. Lots of information handy about the city and options for tourists.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: great area within walking distance.
Room reasonable, cold though, could have had extra blanket or heating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love YHA

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Location was right where I had to be. Loved being across the road from supermarket and the waterfront. Perfect location.
Fantastic, will definitely go back. Booked quite late so was pleased to get a four bedroom with ensuite. Loved the view. Had a great room mate from Germany.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and friendly

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Relaxed. Friendly vibe. Helpful Staff.
Nice Staff. Very clean room and the bathroom areas were very clean as well. It's a YHA so we expected all kinds of travelers but this made it interesting. Nice community vibe to the place. Free wi-fi. Towels were replaced each morning. Close to Te Papa and downtown. Bus stop just round the corner. Great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Tour of NZ Houses of Parliament - interesting and free
This hotel is very central, I could walk everywhere I wanted to go. The cleanliness was top notch, a 5 star hotel wouldn't beat it
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central to Wellington CBD & Attractions

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
It's always a pleasure to stay at the YHA Wellington. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Even though the accommodation is budget it is clean, tidy and well looked after.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Perfect Central City Accommodation for Busy Bees

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Wotif
I just needed a bed to crash in. I'm so over hotels and find staying at backpackers and leisure accommodation far more enjoyable and relaxing - so too did other business folks from the people I saw leaving. I arrived after 10:30 and panicked a bit when I saw the grill down on the counter- but the staff were still there and stay for late people till 11pm. My room was small and functional, a window. Very clean toilets and showers. I didn't use the showers so can't comment on functionality. I had a $6 breakfast - best value and my favourite bagel and cream cheese - YUM. You won me over with this. Very comfortable bed. Pillow was a bit flat for my liking but I was upgraded to a double room (I paid for a single) so could grab the other pillow. There was some noise outside possibly a lift shaft or deliveries but wasn't too bad and would only affect people in part of the building. Staff were friendly and helpful. Well done YHA. :-)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Wotif
The YHA is centrally located and the staff are extremely helpful. Definitely worth thinking about staying there if you're on a budget and want to be central. Nice and clean as well.