Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Antiquated and old

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Although the ambiance is nice in this old hotel the noise from rattling windows and old radiators is not what I wanted for a one night stay. The restaurant was fantastic however. The manager I found to be overly controlling and crossed the line in terms of edicate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ellwood city pa

rooms to small nice location in center of town

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: the front desk people were very friendly
Cons: hotel needs a complete make over
Location: location is good in center of town lots of sites to see
was disappointed when we got there our reservation was lost room they blamed expedia for the problem. room was very small we were not told we needed reservation for sunday brunch was very disappointed that we werent helped out. the woman in the dining area was rude to us will not reccomend this place to anyone
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2015
The room was too small for two adults, the bed caved in the center and the bathroom was beyond small - airplane bathrooms are bigger I think. I did complain and they subtracted $20 from the bill, which was nice, but I would not go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Posted Jun 29, 2015
My family and I spent the weekend at Penn Wells in the Hotel portion. The building was old but well maintained with all the quaint, classic touches of a historic building. Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean. Food in the restaurant was high quality and far above the typical hotel restaurant fare. Drawbacks were the wifi; only one guest per room could be logged in at a time, and the window air conditioning units, which were loud and not super effective. Overall we had a good experience and would stay here again when we return to the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Confusion over two "hotels".

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Close to the main street of town and can walk to food and entertainment.
Booked the hotel online for business travel. Thought we were staying in the hotel but ended up being redirected to the motel. Was a little misleading. For the cost, I thought the motel was not up to par.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, PA

Great stay - close to everything

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: New addition was great and so was the breakfast!
Cons: Not sure - but we will return for sure.
Location: Well, there is a movie theater, but we didn't go - not our types...
Was able to visit our Niece and her Husband. A Bonus was to visit "The Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania". Plan to return in the spring to see the Mountain Laurel in bloom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Hotel with character in a really great location!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: This is a hotel with character, nice staff and very clean rooms.
Cons: The only real downside was that the A/C is a window unit and is a little loud.
Location: Wellsboro, PA is located in central northern PA. Numerous state parks, a state forest, and the Pine Creek Gorge make this a nature lover's paradise.
The Penn Wells hotel in Wellsboro, Pa is an historic hotel located in the heart of Main Street, USA! There really is no better location in the area for a hotel, and it is quite an area for a vacation in any season. Great state parks and the only Dark Sky in the eastern US are some of the highlights.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from harrisburg

Great hotel in the mountains

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Bed
Cons: Air condition
Location: golf, fish, and hike
I stayed for one night and the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The Air conditioner was a small and noisy. This was located in my window. I understand the room will soon be remolded as other rooms have had that done already. I would stay there again anytime.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Levittown, PA

Nice hotel in a beautiful town.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Hotel was clean(really clean), brand new addition, updated older rooms, helpful staff, great pool, within walking distance of entire town.
Cons: Breakfast area got very crowded and could use additional seating. Move the coffee area to a separate station so people aren't in each others way.
Location: PA Grand Canyon, horseback riding, covered wagon rides, major biking trail, state parks, plane rides, golf, walking on main street, beautiful area!!!
My family(self, husband, kids 15&12) stayed at the Penn Wells Lodge for an extended weekend while visiting PA Grand Canyon and Wellsboro. The hotel was very nice. We had a standard double room in the older building which apparently was recently updated. Brand new addition looked really nice. The room was very clean. Comfy bed with clean, nice linens. Bathroom was adequate but clean. Our room faced the parking lot but we were not disturbed by noise(things seem to quiet down somewhat early in the entire town) and we had a great view of a mountain outside from the balcony. There also was an inner door that connected to an inside hallway that takes you down to the lobby, pool, exercise gym and breakfast area. Indoor pool(full size) and jacuzzi were great! Front desk was very helpful with providing places and printing directions for things to do. Breakfast was good but it got very crowded. There is a park with playground equipment behind the hotel for young children. The town is beautiful with cute shops, gas-lit street lights, peaceful square with a fountain all in walking distance. Outdoor activities within short driving distance.
5 out of 5
by The Smiths from Muncy, Pa

Everything is awesome :)

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Very nice!!! Clean! Staff, room, pool, fitness, and great choices with warm food for breakfast!!! It was one of the nicest stays we've had! Close to a lot of nice places to visit. Candy shop, Tops, Dunkin donuts, mcdonalds, Pizza Hut, Pa Grand Canyon and even bowling!