Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rushford, Minnesota

Posted Jun 5, 2018
This place is everything that I had hoped for. Excellent view and wonderful people running it. You will not be disappointed.
4 out of 5
by Michele

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing quaint and cosy little cottage situated at mid mountains. It houses simple rooms and don't expect a hotel like room. Daniel was helpful in giving local tips for trips and excursions. Breakfast was served nicely. The hotel was cleaned everyday with fresh towels. We had to dragged our luggages up the hill to the train station which was quite a climb, nevertheless we treated it as a good workout. Just take note of that especially for people who are not quite fit and have mobility issues. Perhaps you can arrange a cab to the train station which we did not, as we find it doable and we try to save on the extra cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Grest loication, comfortable, good food

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Bed mattresses could be better- too thin.
Location: Ideal for visiting the Jungfrau and local hiking
Stayed for three nights in adept 2017. Fantastic views of mountains. Very friendly owner and staff. Four course evening meal is good food and great value. Modern as well as traditional.
4 out of 5
by Brooke

Affordable, friendly, clean

Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Hotels
The proprietors take great care and pride in their work, and it shows. They work very hard to provide a good experience for guests, especially Thomas! Breakfast selection was really good, including the opportunity to boil your own eggs, freshmade bread, and really yummy yogurt and cheese from their cow. The beds seem to be typical Swiss beds--not super comfy. But the pillows and blanket were very soft! Views from the room were unbeatable. The dinner is a good value, but we only dined there our first night and did enjoy meals elsewhere a bit more.
5 out of 5
by Lum

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful area, excellent service, small but tidy rooms, very clean property, warm breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful atmosphere

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Staff, food, location, price. Dinner package was great
Cons: Bathroom towels could be more plush
Location: go up to Jungfrau, it's nicer to stay up here vs lower down the mountain
The staff here were exceptional! Some of the most sincere and helpful I've ever met. They were friendly to each and every guest and appeared to really enjoy what they do. The rooms looking out to the Jungfrau were lovely! We got to see how the changes in weather and clouds altered the view. Furthermore, the dinner package was a deliciously good deal. The hotel seems to attract nice guests which made the experience even more pleasant. Wengen is a great place to stay to visit the Jungfrau as it's the limit of the Swiss Pass train coverage. Just buy a Jungfrau ticket at the Wengen station. It's is a quick (but uphill) walk to the train station from the hotel. Of note, you can't drive to Wengen--it's only accessible by train, though there are a few resident taxis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Lovely hotel in Wengen

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Hotel Edelweiss is a wonderful choice in Wengen. The hotel staff was very helpful and provided top notch service. We ate the dinner on our first night and it was amazing. Waking up with the view of Jungfrau mountain in your eyesight is not one I will soon forget. The only reason I cannot give the highest rating is because we visited in summer during the hottest months and the rooms do not have AC. We could not leave our windows open because of the bugs coming in, a huge spider made its way into our room along with several moths that made it uncomfortable with critters crawling on us. It would be great if screens were added to the window and/or door so you could leave the open. On our 2nd night we got a fan from the front desk which made it much better.
5 out of 5
by David

The best place we have stayed at on our tour

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Hotels
The greeting from when we arrived to when we left was excellent from all staff The food and 4 course evening meal was quite exceptional , home cooked and superb value The rooms and location were excellent Could not fault it all This is how a hotel should be run ... I will come back with my wife! Listed as 2 star... but it's so much better than that !
5 out of 5
by Prasanna

Amazing location, excellent hosts, very cute room

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing location, excellent hosts, very cute room; kids wanted to stay for a lot longer :-). Best welcome we have received in a hotel for quite some time. Only downer was the fact that you need to lug your baggage over steep roads (unless you want to pay 18 CHF for a taxi for < 1 KM) but that was well advertised and was not a surprise. The hotel also sent us a special mail immediately after the booking with all details (only hotel to do so till date when I have booked through hotels.com). Overall an amazing hotel experience.