Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Frank

Great mountain property

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
The view from the property is breathtaking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania, USA

Beautiful, historic family-run hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2017
What can I say? This historic hotel is in a gorgeous location, with spectacular views of the Alps from every window. The service is top-notch. The Cova family has run the Falken Hotel for several generations, and their attention to detail is clearly evident. Jenny and her staff greeted us by name each day of our stay, mixed drinks for their guests at the bar, and packed boxed lunches for day trips into the mountains. Breakfasts and dinners were fabulous and served in the beautiful dining room. We truly felt like part of the family and will definitely return!
5 out of 5
by Matthew

Quaint & agreeable hotel, we're returning nextyear

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
*Very nice, quaint, family run hotel in the beautiful car free resort in Wengen. If you're looking for a 3star hotel in in a mountain resort the Hotel Falken is one of the best! I don't normally say this about any hotel I have stayed in for a vacation but I am in fact planning to return to the Falken next year for another walking holiday. *I think the hotel was built in 1906 so it has a distinct early 20th century feel to it, which is rather agreeable. *The staff are courteous, helpful and do their best to make a stay enjoyable *There's no TV in the rooms but who needs it when there is free wifi throughout the hotel and its incredibly fast, downloaded an 8GB HD movie in less than 15 mins - cant believe it, so much better than UK. I am content to watch internet TV on the Mac last thing at night. *The hotel is conveniently close (but not too close) to the Wengen funicular railway station, don't be put off, given the unusual funicular configuration the railway is in fact not particularly noisy at all. *Be aware the hotel has a short although steep climb to from railway station & village centre - not really an issue for someone visiting for a walking or ski holiday but for those with personal mobility problems it would be challenging. *Oh, and almost forgot to mention - there's a lovely gentleman playing jazz piano in the lounge during the evenings. Thank you so much , it makes the holiday complete!
5 out of 5
by Erin

Nice place to stay

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
The room was nice with a beautiful mountain view. Food and service were very good.
5 out of 5
by Paula

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
This historic hotel is a gem. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and had jaw-dropping views from the charming balcony. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and was served in a pretty sunroom. Service was consistently friendly and attentive. For those with physical challenges, consider arranging for the hotel van to pick you up at the train station, as the walk to the hotel is quite steep. In this beautiful alpine area, though, hiking just goes with the territory. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great staff. Fantastjc view. Nice location!!!

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Orbitz
Spent a weekend in the area. Is a great town. The hotel is well located. Reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
by Rebecca from New York City

Beautiful, lovely, a trip back in time in the Alps

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel Falken is a beautiful, historic hotel in a breathtaking place. It was comfortable, clean and friendly. We would definitely go back. The only complaint I have is that the dinner was pretty mediocre. I would suggest eating elsewhere. However, everything else was tip-top. It was quiet but during the higher season, I think it would be a pretty bustling place and a fun experience to hang out at the bar or in the piano room. Overall, top notch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the train stop

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Our family stayed one night in a junior suite which was two rooms connected but has one private bathroom. Our floor was 1st and there's a shared bathroom in a hallway that we can use too. Our suite was in another building from the main building so when we get in the building there's no reception area and no light. We thought it's like haunted house since the building was very old and no lights in the hallway and seems like there's nobody in the building. Our private bathroom size is OK but shower booth and toilet were located in a separate room so it was really tight we can't even bend ourselves when we drop something inside shower booth. Finally when we all were settled to go to bed around 11at night people started came that building we can hear from our room and we couldn't fall asleep because their talking from upstairs room never stopped until 2am and we kept hearing the noises from the hallway since people running around hallway to use shared bathroom which is near our room.. Old wooden building needs update for sound proof.. Even though we enjoyed a lot about the location and the view that our porch provided, I don't think I would recommend this hotel to my friends...
4 out of 5
by Deborah

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
Great quiet little town to base yourself for a trip up to the top of europe. Friendly staff, good breakfast, comfy beds.
5 out of 5
by Sandra from Palm Beach Gardens, FL

Loved the Hotel Falken!

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
The Hotel Falken was perfect for our two night stay in Wengen. We were treated like family, welcomed with a drink under a shady tree on the patio looking at the beautiful Jungfrau mountains after arriving weary in Switzerland from the US. Our connecting rooms worked perfectly with our two teenagers; while there was only one bathroom, each room had a sink and mirror and we enjoyed being able to move between the two rooms with mountain and village views. The included breakfast was delicious and plentiful, served each day at our reserved table in a beautiful sunroom. We enjoyed the hotel's 3 course dinner on our first night and were very pleased. On the morning of our departure, Mike and his "navigator" (Buddy the dog) were so helpful in assisting us to transport our luggage back to the train station with ease. We would not hesitate to return to the Hotel Falken and recommend it to our friends.