Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Peter

PJ Lichfield

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
it was okay, nothing special, made to queue in very small bar before being allowed to go to table in empty restaurant not very impressed.
5 out of 5
by wendy from Hornsea

A little gem

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Had a brilliant time, staff great, food brilliant, had a great time .Wendy n Phil room five
4 out of 5
by david ian from Bradford

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Nice comfortable stay ,good well kept beer good food
5 out of 5
by Angela

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
The staff very friendly and accommodating, evening meal delicious will definitely return! Lovely area.
5 out of 5
by Roger from Newmarket

Great place to stay in the Dales

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay for a few days in the Dales. Good food, everything freshly cooked and served hot. Friendly staff. Room very clean and tidy.
5 out of 5
by Julia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by PAUL from London

Good food and friendly welcome

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
Historic pub with great food, friendly service and old world charm.
1 out of 5
by Jo from lincoln

Not up to standard

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
We cut short our stay. We stayed in the four poster room. The shower was dirty and the room was very tired with some wallpaper coming away from the wall. The young lady who served meals was lovely, apart from that staff and owners seemed annoyed if anyone made a request and were generally miserable. The food in the restaurant was lovely, but we felt that the room was dusty and a bit grubby (especially on the top of the four poster, call us fussy if you like) however for £90 a night we expected a higher standard of cleanliness. All in all we felt like we had happened upon the Fawlty Towers of the Yorkshire Dales. We made our excuses (we felt complaining would have no effect whatsoever and would ruin our stay and mood) and left.
5 out of 5
by Candice from Doncaster

Superb stay.

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
We could not fault this hotel and its staff. They went the extra mile to make our visit special. The food was excellent and the room was a joy.
4 out of 5
by David from Disley

Conviviality in the Yorkshire Dales

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Room was spotless if rather small - bathroom was bigger than the room itself. Facilities in both rooms were excellent and the bed was extremely comfortable. Food - both evening meal and breakfast - was above average for pub catering.