Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful scenery near Ice cave

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable next to the ice cave (eisreisenwelt)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
We loved this little place because it was close to what we wanted to see. We loved the castle with the falcon show and we hiked to the spot where the meadow scene in the Sound of Music movie was filmed. This town is very quiet and small. It closes up early at night. We did a lot of walking in the area so we enjoyed that. It was hot when we were there so the room was a bit hot but the staff was extremely helpful and the breakfast was extra but great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Nice hotel near ice cave

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Nice, clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff and good breakfast. Room was spacious, but no fridge or air conditioning. Would stay there again if in the area.
3 out of 5
by Christopher from Aurora, Ontario, Canada

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was great, Friendly staff, great scenery and location. Only downside was the quality of the free WiFi which was poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riyadh

Nice hotel in small town

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Nice hotel with comfy rooms and nice view outside the hotel. Staff was very helpful, they also call the bus to pick you up in morning for visit to ice caves. Has good dinning area and bar, also 5 mins walk from other restaurants. Only problem is hotel is around 1km from train station which and the road is uphill so difficult to carry luggage. Also its a small town with no taxi service and it was raining when we checked out and had to drag our bags to train station in rain for 15 mins.
5 out of 5
by Stefan from Alemeda, CA

Great help at the front desk

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
I booked this hotel based on reviews and it did not disappoint. I had some business needs and Tina at the front desk did everything possible to accommodate me - extremely pleasant and friendly and made my review from very good to super! This is a very friendly and welcoming place thanks to her. Also, the hotel has a restaurant with good food, is close to the Werfen castle and ice cave, and is a walk to one of the sound of music film locations. This is a good place check in and check out of a while.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Quaint hotel near the Castle

Posted Jun 15, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel! Our room was really clean and the beds are comfortable. The staff is really sweet and accommodating. We decided at the last minute to stay one more night and they were able to make it happen without over charging us. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the castle. The restaurant was surprising really good. It's a great place to stay for some R&R!
4 out of 5
by Tommy from Athens, GA

Nice little hotel.

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
The staff of the hotel were all very nice and accommodating. It is a nice hotel in a great location. Situated between the castle, Hohenwerfen and the downtown area of Werfen, you can easily walk to either. Good breakfast, and plenty of space in our room. Would stay here again if visiting Werfen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very clean and welcoming hotel. Good breakfast for an extra charge. A beautiful little town surrounded with stunning mountains, very conveniently located to the Eisriesenwelt (the ice cave definitely worth seeing) and an old castle. Easy access to/from the highway, easy parking. The reception desk service is excellent but it is not staffed after 20:00. The wi-fi signal in the room was weak but they were upfront about "wi-fi available in common areas"
2 out of 5
by Carl from Toronto

Terrible Service

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is quite aged but not too bad. The problem was with the desk clerk. The hotel was about 10% full and they put us at the farthest possible place. As soon as I reached the room I tested the wi-fi and it had no signal strength. I asked to be moved and she refused. She would not believe me. I needed to use the wi-fi and had to sit in the hallway to receive a signal. There was nobody on our floor so I could have moved the bed out there and nobody would have noticed. The desk clerk could not have been less helpful. This is not an inexpensive hotel and I would certainly rate it as one to avoid.