Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Stayed here to visit Wernigerode and hike the Brocken. Easy walk from the train station and to the town marketplace. Staff was friendly and helpful - they stored my luggage after checkout so I could hike. Room was comfortable with windows you can open to get fresh air.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Functional congress hotel does most things well

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Comfortable but not luxurious congress hotel. Did most things well. Great location near station and town centre
5 out of 5
by Mark from Bicester

Wernigerode visit for HSB steam trains

Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
A great hotel just a few minutes walk from the railway station and the town centre. Good plentyful selection of breakfast items. Only issue was they tried to charge me for 3 adults on the City tax €7.50 instead of 1 adult and 2 children at €5 so check you receipts carefully. Will def stay again tho.
5 out of 5
by Shaun from Rotherham

Quality Hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is a excellent location, great size rooms, quality breakfast with lots of choice, staff very helpful and a great bar
5 out of 5
by Drew from Sacramento

Great Location

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels
Great place to stay for sightseeing the city, castle and is close to the train station...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vermont USA

Competent but no soul

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels
Certainly a well run hotel, but a bit on the corporate side, lacking in character. However, included breakfast was extensive and staff friendly. However, Wernigerode has many hotels with much more character.
5 out of 5
by Nikki from Honolulu, Hawaii

Fabulous hotel

Posted May 3, 2013 on Hotels
The service was fantastic - the room was comfortable and VERY roomy - I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It was within walking distance of the middle of town (Wernigerode) which was wonderfully quaint. They had a great Walpurgis festival going on - there's a shuttle up to the castle - parking was secure and VERY reasonably priced. Breakfast had many options and service was again wonderful. Will stay here again - great place if you want the historic railroad, too!
4 out of 5
by Rose from Chicago

Very good hotel overall but staff not great

Posted Apr 19, 2013 on Hotels
Our extended family had 3 rooms for 2 nights. The hotel itself is nice. Great location and breakfast buffet was fantastic but the staff was hit or miss. Don't get misled and agree to get the "tourist book" which you have to pay for upon checkout unless you understand what it is and if you will use it. One of our rooms overlooked the parking garage and there was a lot of noise throughout the first night and the hotel front desk was not at all helpful in that case ("There is nothing we can do"). Finally, when I went down to breakfast I put the "Do not disturb" sign on the door (It actually is a thing you put in the key card slot so there's no mistaking it) but the cleaning crew ignored it and went in the room all the same. In many hotels the staff speak very good English but not here. However the hotel electrician was very nice and helpful and the restaurant staff were delightful. The rooms were clean and comfortable but the Wi-Fi which we paid for didn't work well. We had to go into the hallway to get good reception which defeats the purpose when you purchase 24 hour Wi-Fi because you want to be able to use it when you relax. We stayed here because we wanted a place that included breakfast (well worth it) and parking. The clerk upon check-in could have mentioned that you can pay for parking at the front desk which is very convenient, but we only were told about it at check-out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good, clean and well positioned

Posted Feb 21, 2013 on Hotels
Good, clean hotel. Well positioned in the town. All the staff were very helpful and polite
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roger from York, England

Review

Posted May 19, 2012
Location: Well located as regards walking from the railway station.
A very busy hotel with many bus tour group guests but the quality of the service and the quality, quantity and availability of the buffet style breakfast and dinner were all excellent. Guests staying for several nights had their own reserved tables for dinner and the service by the Head Waitresses (sometimes a blonde haired lady and sometimes a reddish haired lady) regarding ordering of drinks was exceptional.