Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Nick

Great hotel, would highly recommend

Posted Feb 11, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location, right near the main train station and a short distance from the town. The rooms were a good size and extremely clean. I would definitely use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by nguyen

PERFECTION

Posted Jan 16, 2013 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel situated very close to the city centre and opposite the bahnhof. Friendly and professional staff and very beautiful and clean rooms.
5 out of 5
by Vance

Hotel Gebhards an absolute delight

Posted Dec 20, 2012 on Hotels
Hotel Gebhards in Göttingen was superlative in every respect. We felt "at home" from the moment we checked in. The staff was solicitous of our needs, knowledgable, and pleasant. The room was so comfortable and spacious including two televisions and "free" minibar. The breakfasts were positively sumptuous including champagne each morning. The hotel is a few blocks from the Marktplatz, but a pleasant walk. The only disappointment was the shower...no enclosure made showering a bit of a challenge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Canada

S U P E R B European C H A R M

Posted Nov 26, 2012
This is a classic old traditional European hotel with lots of charm. The staff was super friendly and accommodating and the service was superb. This hotel is conveniently located near the train station and Goettingen city center. I had a great stay there and enjoyed the added touches like: complimentary chocolates in the room, fresh cut flower (rose) in the bathroom, and foot cloth near the bed. 10/10 for me ! Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Magnus M.

Comfortable Hotel at Convenient Locaiton

Posted Jul 15, 2012 on Hotels
Haven't slept so well in a hotel in a long while. Very comfortable room and bed. Close to road and train station but no disturbance. Pleasant atmosphere and well kept. Good breakfast, which was included. Great for a business trip, would work fine for leisure too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

over priced

Posted Jul 24, 2011 on Hotels
This is a nice hotel and close to town but its basic and I was really disappointed by it. Considering what the rates are I really feel its overpriced. The room was cramped and lacked any real coziness. The bathroom was cramped and the shower/bath was a disaster, I had to crouch in the bath to use the shower. It's a nice, clean & friendly hotel but I was really disappointed with it for what I paid..
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Medway, MA

Exactly what I was looking for on my business trip

Posted Apr 15, 2011
Great room. Friendly staff. Front desk very helpful. Restaurant allowed me to go off menu when ordering food. Outstanding cooking. Across from train station which allowed me to commute via train daily to Hannover Fair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

A five star hotel in University City of Goettingen

Posted Oct 13, 2010
The hotel is located within the old fortification wall of the University City of Goettingen, just five minutes walk from Goettingen Mainstation and just five minutes walk from the Auditorium Maximus and ten minutes from the Campus of the University. The University was famous for the Nobel Price Winners in Physics and its Mathematicians like Gauss, Hilbert and Riemann. The University is still a center of excellence and you may meet Nobel Price Winners and other famous scientist in the hotel. The rooms are accurately cleaned with an cosy ambiente. All modern equipment for your comfort is available. You will take your rich and tastily breakfast of high quality in a stylish environment. The restaurant offers a German and International kitchen. The meals will be prepared freshly from ingredients of the market under the supervision of the maitre de cuisine. The visit of the restaurants can be recommended even if you are not a resident of the hotel. Well equipped conference rooms and other rooms for social events are avaible.
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Das Hotel war schön . Das Ambiente und die Lage sind super . Das Personal sehr aufmerksam ,höflich , freundlich und immer zur Stelle , und das Ganze völlig unaufdringlich und dezent ! Erstaunlich war lediglich , das die Sauna mittlerweile extra kostet , was bei einem Hotel dieser Kategorie ungewöhnlich ist .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Wir sollten zunächst gegenüber der Besenkammer einquartiert werden - nach etwas energischerer Nachfrage wurden wir dann in ein anderes Zimmer verlegt. Bei 188 E/Nacht hätten wir uns im Vorhinein etwas mehr Sensibilität gewünscht ... Ansonsten alles im Rahmen dessen, was man für den Preis erwartet.