Ratings based on 597 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel being renovated. Rooms very nice.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Added an extra night to travel to Isle of Palms. Very nice staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never stay there again

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Stayed one night and the room wasnt that great and the air conditioner smelled very moldy. Also since I booked ahead for a cruise was never notified of construction, which took out the continental breakfast. This was one of the main reasons for picking the hotel due to having kids and wanting them fed prior to leaving for the cruise the next day. Horrible experience but was glad they let me cancel my return stay in order to go somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Location: Angel Oak and downtown Charleston, Fort Sumter, Market Street
Breakfast was a food truck, can you believe that! Kitchen was being renovated. The wait for food was really, really long. It caused us to be delayed. Everything else was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Expensive for A Construction Zone

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The room was recently remodeled but cramped and not laid out well at all
Cons: Rearranging the room and not putting customers on floors where there are construction workers and tools all over.
Location: Didn't stay long just the night to see a memorial sight.
The hotel was being remodeled and we were not notified prior to booking or arriving. The continental breakfast was to a food truck parked out back and your two choices were eggs and bacon or yogurt. The room was redone and okay but we had to step over tools and walk around construction equipment to get to the one tiny elevator. There were construction workers using the elevators so we had to wait until they unloaded before we could leave. For the cost for the night I expected much better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Remodeling

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
The staff, as usual, are wonderful, so I really hate to complain BUT I'm amazed they didn't warn us they were remodeling. The usual breakfast buffet is not available, and although there are VERY nice people providing a food truck, it's not what we expect from HIX. Because of the workers, the "security" doors are always left open. There is a great deal of noise during the day. And dust. The cleaning staff left wet washrags on my towel rack - I assume they picked them up off the floor where I always put the laundry. SOmeone left chewing gum in a bottle cap on my nightstand - ewww.
5 out of 5
by Ayende

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Stacy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from o

Good

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Good and I will stay again their is no more to addrefuuf Ffhfgcfysxdbdyvuzgi
5 out of 5
by Janice

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Convenient hotel to downtown Charleston

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Hotel was in the process of updating their rooms. We stayed in an old room but it was clean and comfortable.