Ratings based on 587 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

HOWARD JOHNSON (BOISE, ID) - DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: It is conveniently located at the back of a shopping center and the price, on Expedia at least, seemed cheap ($98 was too expensive for what I got).
Cons: If this room is what all the others are like, the entire hotel needs to be improved and the staff needs to be re-trained or replaced.
Location: Address: 8002 W Overland Road, Boise, ID
Thurs. August 17th, 2017 - Room 141 Expedia Cost: $98 This was the WORST hotel experience I have ever had (pictures attached). When I entered the room, the light switch wasn't working and the bed was unmade. There was hair and specks of dirt on the sheets. I went to the front desk staff (didn't get names - a woman with short hair and a man wearing a turban) and told them about the bed and asked for a new room. They said there were no more rooms available and that the one I was in had been marked as "clean". The man then said that someone had been in the room earlier after it was cleaned "for, like, 5 minutes" and must've done that. The woman removed the sheets and replaced them with new ones. When I went back into the room, I noticed that there was more hair on the lamp stand and on the tile floor which I hadn't noticed before. There was also an odd-colored footstool in the corner by the bed which didn't match with the rest of the room. I moved it and saw that there was a dead roach and a bit of dog food on the ground beneath it. I sat on the bed to send a text and felt something crawling on my hand. I stood up and brushed it off - it was a little bug crawling on the bed which had just been remade. I went back to the front desk and told them I wasn't staying there. I expressed what I had found in the room. The woman acted surprised and the man clearly didn't care but said that, in order to get a refund, I would need to go through Expedia since I had booked through them.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston tx

Horrible service

Posted Aug 6, 2017
I arrived 30 minutes before checkin. They said there were no rooms ready. Hard to believe that they would get all the rooms ready in a 30 minute window. But on top of that the front desk persons seemed very "disinterested" in even looking to see if any were available. I decided to go get lunch for 30 minutes then return. At return they told me "it's been ready"??? Next morning went to the continental breakfast that was advertised at serving from 6-9am. We went down at 7:45ish. The pans of eggs, potatoes, sausage were all empty and dried out. I asked the front desk, and they said they only cook 3 packs of eggs a day and a certain amount of other stuff also. She also said "its almost 9 anyway". They showed no care or concern that they had no hot items available. Room smelled like it was an hourly cheap motel you take a hooker to, and the flooring looked like it hadn't been updated since 1988 Overall, I think Expedia should take this location off of their site. I go to Boise every summer, and I have stayed in HOjO's before, but this one was just bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boise idaho

Clean comfortable and convenient location

Posted Aug 5, 2017
The staff was extremely nice and answered all questions we had about the area and about the hotel. I like that they allow pets too. I did not bring mine but now know that they are extremely pet friendly. The continental breakfast was great and served till 9. The bed was comfortable and the room attendant was great about replacing towels and the shampoo and soap. It is located right behind Wal-Mart and right off the interstate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Looking Old

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: A complete make-over is needed.
Location: Very close to Walmart
We had to change rooms as the A/C did not work and it was 98 degrees. The bath tub had once had a bath mat and the old glue was still staining the tub. The general appearance was very dated/
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did the job.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
I was looking for a hotel room that was cheap, had a pool, and was relatively close to those we were visiting in Boise. It was that. Only that. The room was quite dirty, the pool was murky, hot tub was nonfunctional, and the continental breakfast was very meager. The bathtub drain and the television in our room were not working right and even though he complained no one ever came to fix it. The rooms were spacious and fairly comfortable and I felt safe when I locked the door. We didn't spend a lot of time there...we were out having fun, so the room was just fine. However, I will never stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was really good
Cons: The only bad thing about this is the location. It's like behind a lowes and right next to the freeway. You can't hear the cars in your room though.
Location: Right off the freeway....literally
It's not horrible but it's not fancy either. I would stay there again because the price is right.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Neenah, Wisconsin

Close to Airport, but disappointing

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Close to airport
Cons: Lots, mainly customer service
One thing I have learned through our unfortunate experience with Howard Johnson Boise is that there is a reason they have only two stars on their rating, which I should have heeded instead of opting for the convenience of a room right near the airport. Only after I made the reservation for my husband did I realize that his flight did not arrive at the airport until almost 1am, so I called the hotel to arrange for an early check-in or add another day. I told the clerk the circumstances of this early arrival and if checking in early on Thursday would be ok. She said, “that is fine, no extra charge,” her exact words, “not a problem.” On Sunday, they told my him to either check out or pay for an extra day. I called and spent an hour on the phone, much of it on hold while the clerk went to make coffee. He finally said he would speak to the manager and call me back. Manager called me an hour later and said they could not confirm his early check-in arrangements because the clerk I had originally spoken to was off. He said the early check-in moved the check-out date up one day. If we had paid for an early check-in it would have been okay. I said she had never given me that option. I offered to pay the fee now, he said it was too late, was unsympathetic, said we could pay or leave. The attitude of the manager was poor and uncompromising. The "breakfast" was not well stocked, no milk, no coffee, essentially toast and dry cereal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
When we got to the room it wasn't clean, the smell was horrible. We actually check right back out asked for our money back went to a different hotel. I would never go back to this hotel again or recommend it to any other person
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a nice get away.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Had a great stay. Simple, clean, quiet. Great staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Richey, FL

A stuffy room

Posted Jun 30, 2017
The carpeted floors were stained. The air conditioner barely worked and left the room very stuffy. The shower creaked every time you made a move in it.