Ratings based on 468 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: friendly welcome Breakfast was ok
Location: not a great location, didn't feel very safe!
We stayed for 1 night after a wedding close by. The welcome was good, very friendly and helpful. The room was v basic and v small. needed to hunt to find the extra towel and only 1 pillow per person. We had a power cut during the night (tripped switch) which took a while to sort once we raised it the following morning and the manager was quite rude when we initially asked what was happening - he did apologise and come to explain later. Decent breakfast - not a great location, we had a nice view of the roof!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Got lost trying to find my way to the hotel, satnav kept telling me I'm at my destination while still on the motorway! And this was apple maps. Be careful especially with older satnavs as it's a bit tricky navigating from the motorway into the hotel. During check in, the receptionist advised us that our room (138) was on the ground floor. She failed to mention that it was down 2 flights of stairs, and a long walk down corridors which is more like basement, based on where the reception is. Key didn't work first time, had to go back to reception to get it activated. Other than that the room was clean, bed was comfortable, tea/coffee making facilities well stocked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel based within vicinity I needed to travel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Everything that catered all my needs.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to West Bromwich town centre.
First class experience, where staffs treated me like royalty and I am so deeply humbled as a guest to be cared for in such an unique special way of customer centre care (CCC). I felt like family in my very distress time where I needed a place of solace and PEACE to lay down my head in the midst of the storm I was going through. Extra, extra, extra special thanks to both Gerry and Lana for your kind thoughts towards me; Priya and Christine who both went the extra mile in sorting out my breakfast, compliments to the chef Aman, who served up a fantastic breakfast for the guests each morning and to Mandy in the gym who made me feel so special after using facilities.
5 out of 5
by Conrad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Nice for a quick stay. In the middle of nowhere. Rooms are clean but wouldn't let us change the temperature. The breakfast is good and not too expensive.
5 out of 5
by Barry Naylor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
The room was comfortable and clean. The pool and sauna/steam room were lovely, if a little busy. The location is very difficult without a car and was not a nice place to walk through at night! Don't arrive on a Saturday afternoon because the stadium was emptying and blocked every road!
1 out of 5
by David

Wont Be back and would not recommend!

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was god awful! Tiny outdated room, with dirty carpets, no heating (well it was there but didn't work!) Staff could not have cared less!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017
Dear David, Thank you for your review. We apologize for the disappointing service you received during your stay, as well as for the condition and cleanliness of your room. Your feedback is valued and will be used to ensure all guest rooms are up to Park Inn standards.
3 out of 5
by Tony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Nicky

DO NOT STAY THERE

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
It is terrible, false advertising. No room service exists at all. If you want anything you have to go get it yourself. No Kitchen exists, the breakfast is prepared in a trailer parked in the car park and carried through the car park then served. There is no room service at all, it does not exist as there is no kitchen. We had to order from just eat and that was rubbish so waste of money. The sheets did not fi the beds, they had skeleton staff on due to cut backs, it was awful. Will never stay there again, intact I will be complaining to consumers Association and General manager as it was false advertising. Seriously disappointed and not happy at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017
Dear Nicky, Thank you for your review. We regret to hear you were dissatisfied with your stay. We apologize you were disappointed with the food and service throughout your visit. We value your feedback and will use your comments to improve our guest experience.