Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Gracious old home

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: That it's an old house and the garden setting.
Cons: Our room was comfortable however a little small.
Location: Picturesque harbour, with several walks. Cruises and train rides into the wilderness. Easy drive to the coast.
Short walk to main wharf area. Lovely staff, very helpful with lots of local information. Friendly atmosphere in the hotel, more like an old guest house
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A Perfect Stay in Strahan!

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: The location is great, just a ten minute stroll out of town. Franklin Manor has old world charm with all the modern conveniences.
Cons: The front porch flooring will need to be seen to sometime in the future.
Location: The boat trip up the Gordon River and the historic railway are a must do. There is a lovely walk in the People's Park. Visit the Bushmans Cafe too!
We were warmly welcomed and everything was individually explained to us by Christine. We were told to treat this as our home for the three days. Nothing was too much trouble. Christine really knows the local area. The beds are very comfy, breakfast is simple, but delicious and every thing is homemade. The shower is clean with good pressure. Sitting outside in the garden in late afternoon is a very pleasant activity too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U K

Nice historic building , good location.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Hostess
Location: Exactly what was expected from a sleepy Tas Village.
What might have been a good stay, spoilt by the over fussy hostess, we were quite capable of discriminating between the various breakfast options with the help of notices provided. The conducted tour was O T T
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2015
The property is immaculate and the hosts were very friendly. In a very quiet location and just a short walk to the port.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Very welcoming and homely

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Homely atmosphere, generous breakfast.
Location: Very close to Strahan town centre. A 5 minute easy stroll. The Gordon River Cruise is a must (upgrade to the Captain's Deck - well worth it!)
We enjoyed a couple of night at Franklin Manor. Our hosts were very hospitable and the rooms clean and tidy, although the room we were in felt a little "cramped". Wonderful, generous buffet/continental breakfast in lovely surroundings. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Character
Cons: Car Parking
Knowing we would be arriving late after 9pm, we called ahead to advise Christine & Craig. They were most considerate, gave advice on what we could expect en-route Hobart -Strahan and were there to welcome us on our arrival. Extremely friendly and courteous, shared information on the area and history of the charming house, Comprehensive Continental Breakfast included with an option of upgrading to a cooked breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfort

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Delightful stay with all the comforts of home. A shame we had only booked for 1 night, would have loved to stay longer. Close to Hogarth falls.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hobart, Tasmania

great location, great hosts, great decor

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Gordon River Cruise (Heritage Cruises) Henty Dunes The Ocean Beach Drive to Zeehan and check out the tunnel The railway Nightly play
We had a fantastic 3 night stay at Franklin Manor in one of the suite rooms. This is a beautiful but comfortable and warm place to stay, tastefully decorated and our hosts Christine and her husband (Greg?) could not do enough for us. I highly recommend this B & B, it's an easy 10 minute flat walk to Strahan Harbour (Heritage Cruises). Heaps to see and do in Strahan, I recommend a 3 night stay!
4 out of 5
by Dave from Sydney, AUS

Delightful Stay

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Beautiful building in a fantastic setting. The hosts were very friendly and informative. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

step back in time with all the modern convienience

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: nearly everything...
Cons: Beds and pillows were quite soft....and they didn't have firm pillows...also the paper would have been nice. being taken over by new people soon..
Location: Just out of town, though Strahan is small..They are closing for a month or so then may be run by different people. Close to cruises and restaurants.
Stayed here for 3 nights in April 2014..Beautiful old weatherboard manor...open fires, lovely staff (John and Jane),drinks available, lovely breakfast room...but felt comfortable and like home. Lovely rooms, close to amenities (short walk to town) Lovely continental breakfast...