Ratings based on 585 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Fantastic staff, outdated rooms

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Fast check-in, easy access to restaurants/ cafes
Cons: Rooms need updating
Location: Eat and pre-booked cruises, thats about it.
Fantastic little hotel, staff helped with any questions and tips.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2016 by Brad, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to post your positive review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Room 1115, just don't!!

Posted Jan 16, 2016
On a positive note the check in staff were efficient and pleasant, the view from the room was good but and the wifi signal was strong but that's where it ends. This room and others in close proximity are above the bakery which means from c3am your room is filled with very strong smells, dont romanticise about waking to the smell of baked bread, it's just not like that. Then there's the noise from the staff down there, they start at 1am. At 5 am on our second night it was just ludicrous the amount of noise being made, not good when travelling with a baby and pregnant partner. Rooms are also incredibly dated as are the appliances in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2016 by Brad, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review I do apologise for the inconvenience you had to experience. I have personally addressed your comments with the team.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Well positioned, great view,

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: The view
Cons: Clean the room
Location: Not a lot to do, the cruise was great, walking around is great, but that's about it.
Good hotel, problem was that the rooms were not cleaned whilst we were away. Really needed them to be cleaned. All we got from the front desk was a "sorry about that". Meanwhile we had rotting fruit skins we had eaten the night before, towels all on the floor wet expecting to be replaced, linen that needed replacing (was itchy for some reason and needed new linen). Them missing our room really put a dampener on the whole experience, and their apology did nothing, there was no offer of compensation or anything. Poor form.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2016 by Brad, Hotel Management
Thanks f or taking the time to post your review, its disappointing to read you did not have an enjoyable stay with us and the team did not action your requests in a professional and timely manner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice views, easy walk to everything in town (main)

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Wifi was very weak and dropped out a lot. Shower water pressure was excellent for those who like it strong (second floor of main building). Nice views of the sunset if your room is a harbour view in the main building. Overall nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2016 by Brad, Hotel Management
Our harbour view rooms have an amazing outlook over Macquarie Harbour, glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Noisy location, needs updating & better access

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Location: We went to Strahan to ride the railroad only we didn't get to
Lobby was very nice, and staff couldn't have been nicer. Beautiful view across busy road to harbor but the accommodations are right on this busy road, just a sidewalk away. The walls were paper thin in our room, and I could still hear talking on the street at 2 AM. Old maple end tables and bedsteads made for a rustic look; the light bulbs were way larger than their fixtures and hung out way below them. We had to lug our suitcases up a long, steep incline to reach our room on the second level. All in all not a great place to stay for 2 nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2015 by Brad, Hotel Management
Hi Mary Lou Thanks for taking the time to post your review, we are currently updating the TV's in our 4 star rooms and will receive new bed bases for all 142 rooms which will enable us to triple sheet our beds. We have also purchased brand new linen and toweling and stock Appelles bathroom amenities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney NSW

One night accommodation & pleasantly surprised

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location and convenience . period look of the various acconnodation units plus the linkage to sepatate dinning facilities on the dockside was very app
Cons: Hard to say, value for money and quality of the room were both good in our opinion. Maybe if the blankets could be repklaced with Quilts or Doonas .
Booking was made on line after we decided to visit Strahan while staying at lake St Clare . Facinating drive in from Derwent Bridge via Queenstown but total experiance worth the effort. The reception staff were friendly, efficient and courteous. Location at the wharf (harbourside) was perfect and the "period design " cottages fitted in with our expectation of a "quaint , west coast experience" The weather was excellent so this added to the enjoyment .
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2015 by Brad, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to post your detailed review. We are in the process of changing all our linen to doonas to give a more homely feel .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tamara from Northern Tasmania

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
We had a lovely relaxing time. The room was a little dated, but the view was very picturesque.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2015 by Brad, Hotel Management
thanks for taking the time to post your review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Location was to die for

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Wotif
We stayed for 3 nights, which we loved, but that was enough, we quickly ran out of things to do in town. The Gordon river cruise was awesome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2015 by Brad, Hotel Management
thanks for your review, a trip on board the Lady Jane Franklin II is a must do when in Strahan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Priscilla from Adelaide SA

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Very comfortable and warm. Staff friendly and very helpful. Quiet even though there were a few bus tours. Close to all amenities. Meals expensive and chose not to eat our main meal there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2015 by Brad, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to post your review, glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Wotif
Maybe put the photos of a standard room up and why do we pay for free internet???