Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Quick Change

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The price, the service and the location was easy to find.
Location: I saw on line that there were things to do nearby, however we were in the area to visit for Thanksgiving day.
As Thanksgiving travelers, we needed a hotel available to get a few hours of sleep and to change clothing after a flight and a long drive to the Angleton, TX area before going to a Thanksgiving dinner. I checked out hotels in East Columbia and the Lake Jackson area and decided to try Americas Best Value Inn. I knew we were going to arrive late as our flight to San Antonio arrived at 2 am and then a 4 hour drive to the hotel. The manager was there at the front desk when we arrived a few hours after my original ETA when booking the room, and he allowed us to have a late check out time. The furnishings were a bit dated but clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Everything was quiet and we got good sleep. I would definitely recommend Americas Best Value Inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, United States of America

Good for one night

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Clean rooms, quiet, comfortable beds.
Cons: Start weekend breakfast at either 6 or 6:30 am; 7 am too late.
Location: Not much to do. West Columbia appears to be a small town, although had the basics (several fast food outlets, 2 drug stores, small supermarket).
Needed a room for one night, and this hotel had highest rating for the price I wanted to pay. Check-in process went smoothly (had to pay in advance at desk), and room was ready. Room was clean, and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was included in the rate, and although I would have preferred an earlier start time for Saturday (listed start time was 7 am), it is possible that it did start earlier, as it was all set out and ready to go at 6:55 am. Simple fare (was able to make waffles and toast). All in all, met my needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
It was ok. Sligh mold smell, but otherwise ok.
1 out of 5
by Raul

go somewhere else

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
Bad rooms, bad service, bad swimming pool, bad breakfast. We reserved the room for three days and canceled on the second
3 out of 5
by Elias

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
The bed was quite comfortable. I liked that it was well-lighted outside. Hotel staff was great in accommodating me in a room so me and my elderly wife were comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Samuel

Overall is okay. except for pool

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
the room was decorated beautiful. everything listed is in the room WiFi connection was amazing and free. only complaint the pool and bunches of ants floating and when i asked the owner to clean it out he turned on the pumps and never came outside to sweep out the pool, but overall a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hotel in West Columbia, Tx

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Pros: See above
Wonderful stay, clean, quiet, breakfast, good bed, Wi-if.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The cosmetic upkeep is poorly maintained.

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Orbitz
The place is a dump. While the sheets were clean, the linens, pillows, carpet etc. we're just worn out and shabby. The towel rack in the shower had fallen/been ripped off and just placed on the floor.
5 out of 5
by Noe

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice place staff very friendly and helpful
1 out of 5
by Errol from San Antonio

A Terrible Experience.

Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
I booked this hotel through hotels.com for two days to accommodate my out-of-town military training. I drove nearly 4 hours after work to get to the hotel in West Columbia. I had to be up at 4:00 am the next morning for military training. When trying to check me in, the clerk said that "Expedia" did not recognize my card. I know Expedia owns hotels.com but as far as I know, their booking systems are separate, so I told her that I booked through Hotels.com not Expedia. She called Expedia. That didn’t help. She tried again and said it still wouldn't go through. Then she started telling me to call Hotels.com. I explained to her that the contract between Hotels.com and myself had already been executed, that the problem was between the hotel and hotels.com. I told her I had paid in advance through hotels.com. But she kept telling me Expedia didn't recognize my card. I kept insisting that my card had already been charged and I already paid. I asked her to check me in and have her boss sort out the booking problem in the morning, but she refused. Again, she tells me to call Hotels.com. I finally lost it. I demanded that she get the owner on the phone so that I could talk to him, and he also started pushing back, telling me to call Hotels.com. I told him this was an awful way to treat a paying customer. I told him that they should give me a room, and sort out THEIR payment problem in the morning. He finally agreed. Just short of an hour after arriving, I got a room.