Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay in the John F. Fierke suite, to celebrate our anniversary. The suite is quite spacious, with a large bedroom, a large whirlpool in an adjoining room, and a separate bathroom. The room temperature was a bit on the chilly side as it had been warm earlier in the week but then the temperature dropped. But the bedding was quite warm and the mattress was very comfortable, so we slept well. Breakfast was tasty and filling. There are several good restaurants within walking distance, and the neighborhood is interesting to walk around: many historical houses, and a nice riverwalk.
5 out of 5
by DAVID from Rockford, IL

Nice anniversary spot

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent stay! Steve, the host, was a wonderful conversationalist. The house has a lot of character and charm. We had the house to ourselves, so everything was quiet. Bed was very comfortable, and breakfast was delicious, overall a great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Menomonee Falls, WI

Gracious host, beautiful historic mansion!

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: The Mansion itself and the antique furnishings were beautiful - I think I could tour several times and every time find beautiful things that I missed.
Cons: Don't change anything!
Location: Nightmare on Chicago Street in Elgin was an incredible experience!
Steve greeted us as we walked to the front door and proceeded with a tour and explanations of some of the history of The Mansion and furnishings. We were in town for an event with family and therefore unable to spend much time at The Mansion. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and will return in the future.
4 out of 5
by Scott from Bluffton, IN

Lovely home and neighborhood

Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed for an evening during a business trip. Great building in a wonderful neighborhood. Quiet and peaceful. Would come again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 10, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice bed and breakfast in an old mansion. Great service by the innkeeper. It was empty when I visited, so he upgraded us to a larger room. The breakfast left something to be desired, but I'd recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: everything
The room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. The Mansion was gorgeous.
5 out of 5
by Wendy from Indiana

Everything I expected and more!

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels
The Mansion is an amazing, historic home in a beautiful neighborhood. The host was so welcoming and helpful. Our breakfast was delicious and we really could not have asked for more. We will return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect!!!

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels
Host was extremely accommodating to our every need and went the extra mile to make sure our stay was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New favorite!

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: The owners were very accomodating.
Location: West Dundee is a quaint little town that we would love to go back and explore. We were also close to shopping and plenty of restaurants.
We booked a room here for our 21st wedding anniversary. The owners were very welcoming and had tea and snacks when we arrived. Our room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. There were no other guests so we basically had the run of the mansion. The owner, gave us his # and told us to call if we had any questions (they live 3 houses down). We were told breakfast would be around 9:00 or 9:30. Breakfast was very good and obviously freshly made. Our host was a great conversationalist who stayed nearby to refill coffee, juice etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julieanna from Carol Stream IL

Romantic & Freedom

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Antiques, bath tub, freedom, & antiques!
Cons: I owned it!
Location: Nothing special
The owner, the gentleman was great with knowledge of Antiques which filled the mansion & the history. Absolutely Beautiful @ night, freedom to come & go as you please. I look forward to booking again!