Ratings based on 802 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and surprisingly clean rooms

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: how friendly the staff was and size of rooms
Cons: the room card can be improved. my card stop working a few times.
Location: tim hortons and east side marios are across the street. a quick drive to Canadian Tire Centre, Tanger Shopping Center and tendy restaurants.
When I first drove in to the hotel, it looked aged from the exterior but the interior was very modern. The staff is extremely friendly - check in, cleaners, maintenance crew all had a smile and greeted you. The rooms were very clean and I wasnt expecting it from the way the exterior looked. Hotel is close to Tanger Shopping Centre, Canadian Tire Cenre and restaurants. Overall, great property to stay at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice hotel convienent location

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The ground floor access with a small patio and grass was great with the dog. Also enjoyed the pool and new gym.
Location: Food and shopping all on the same road. Right near banks, groceries, pharmacy, liquor, fast food, restaurants, and other shopping.
The hotel was very clean, in a convienent location. We had a dog and you wouldn't know this is a pet friendly hotel, no bad smells.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pacific

Disppointment for a BestWestern

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: near freeway
Cons: all mentioned in experience reduced pricing
Location: near freeway
Over $160.00 for one night assigned to left wing with no elevator access because booking through Expedia not directly with hotel no breakfast included nice pool but flies floating in it at 8:30 a.m. would never return
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from thunder bay

good location close to college & university

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Reducing the noise from entering your room
Location: close to Algonquin College
Alright hotel for the money. There did appear to be a lot of noise from the hallway coming through the door.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Tried to put us in a smoking room

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Ease of access to the highway. Ample parking.
Cons: Reception - better trained staff
Guaranteed late arrival for a non-smoking room with two queen size beds. When we arrived near 11:00pm, we were given an apparent non-smoking room, but when we got to the room it was obviously used by heavy smokers. I complained to the man on the desk who was not helpful and insisted that this was their only room. There was no way we could stay in the room due to smell and allergies. After complaining bitterly (we had just driven 500km) the man reluctantly gave us a larger room but with only one bed. I asked for a cot, but none ever came. I discovered that the couch was a pull-out bed and thankfully had fresh linens, but no blanket. After about an hour being in the room the blanket finally arrived and we could get to bed. In the morning I spoke to a different man on the front desk who was aware of the problem and apologized profusely. He insisted that all of their rooms were non-smoking and they were looking into the matter. My biggest complaint was the delay with which the man on the front desk the night before tried to solve the problem. Instead, he tried over and over to put us into the bad room, saying that this was his only room. We should have swiftly been upgraded to the suite and he should have known precisely what pull-out bed was in the suite and called to ensure everything was fine. We had to do all the chasing. Obviously training is required. This was not a good experience, and I would never stay their again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melancthon on

convenient to highway

Posted Sep 2, 2017
the hotel was okay but the breakfast was not. All was cold, eggs especially & no sweet rolls or croissants etc,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington, Ontario

Overpriced for what you received.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The location suited us. Parking was good; easy to get in and out.
Cons: More towels;Working television;Get rid of the common bedspreads.Rates are too high for this type of hotel.Charged US rates last time I stayed at a BW
No towels in the bathroom one day. I had to find someone to get some and very few compared to other hotels. The television did not work properly so we gave up on it. I hate hotels with bedspreads. I like the Hampton Inn's covers that are clean every day. Will not stay at a Best Western again unless I am really hard up and can't find anything else. Too expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. have met with the managers of the departments that where of concern. The issues will be dealt with immediatly. Steven General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guelph, Ontario

nice hotel for a pass by stay

Posted Aug 3, 2017
The hotel is close to major highway of the city, so is a good one for a pass by stay. Lin
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed for concert at Canadian Tire Centre. Not bad.
4 out of 5
by heide

very nice

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
just a nice restful stay