Ratings based on 720 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures better than real thing

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly.
Cons: Knowing the area better, they are overpriced for what they offer and where they are located.
The hotel is across form a pub, which had a bar crawl on Saturday that when until 4:00 a.m. ending in fireworks going off right in front of the hotel. When we arrived at 10:30 pm after a full day traveling they didn't have a cart to get our luggage to our room and a young man who normally parks cars offered to help. Our TV wasn't working and they immediately replaced it. There is tons of construction going on across the street and all up and down the main street by their hotel so the construction work started at 6:00 a.m. on a SATURDAY.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful.... don't stay there

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: In need of a major remodeling.
The front staff did not tell us at check-in that the AC for the whole building was down and would not be back running until the next day. We were there for only one night. After dinner we arrived to a 80 degree, stuffy room. When I called the front desk she said it was down and meant to tell us. It's not 9pm and where would be go that late. I called Expedia and they contact the front desk and worked out a full refund which is great. The hotel is old and very beat. When we closed our door, room 508, the wall moved. The head board fabric was torn and peeling. The carpet was stained. The pull out couch was in rough condition...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington. DC

The building is very old and quite decrepit.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
I would never stay here again. I am very surprised that Holiday Inn Express would allow that building to carry its flag. It diminishes their brand
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great location. Walked everywhere.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Very conveniently located. Spacious, comfortable room. Breakfast included. Friendly, helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth your money or trouble

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The hotel was dirty, the carpet's filthy, the beds uncomfortable and the tiles in the ceiling molding and falling out. And the staff somewhat rude. The air-conditioning went out and we were provided with a box fan which did nothing in the July temperatures. We were not given any updates as to when the AC would be fixed and instead it was not fixed at all during our stay. We were not offered any sort of compensation for this whatsoever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Nice hotel and staff. The neighborhood is a bit sketchy, but locals were friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

NOT FOR THE PRICE

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: staff was nice
Cons: better amenities, more seating for breakfast,
Location: bars and Boston garden
Shady area, few amenities, wouldn't go out after dark.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thumbs down

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was great but otherwise my stay was not. Neither room key worked. Had to go back to lobby to fix but this took forever because the elevator was out of service for the night. When finally got into the room- the 'free wi-fi' that was offered was not working either.
1 out of 5
by Erin

NOT PROFESSIONAL STAFF-OUTDATED!!

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
Was the hottest day while we were in Boston and the air conditioner was not working properly. The maintenance guy was very nice and tried to fix it. When stepping out - we were told that they will go into our room and look at it again and if cannot be fixed, we will be moved to another room- we weren't contacted at all!... did not even know If anyone was in the room! My husband doesn't like confrontation or doesn't want to be those "annoying" people so when we got back I wanted to follow up but since it was night time and got cooler out... we decided just leave it. We were only staying one night anyways but service at front desk was not professional at all! There was a lady/young girl at the front desk and the few minutes that we were in the lobby when getting to the hotel, I must have heard her complaining about 100 different things AND "people" as well within those just few minutes! Not professional at all!!! Room are outdated. But since we were in a Boston for the basketball game, the convenience was PERFECT for that- just literally STEPS to the TD arena! But since we paid $400 for JUST 1 NIGHT/ for that amount of $$ we paid- I found (after booking here) another more modern/classy hotel that would have been WORTH THE $$ compared to this "dump"- DEFINITELY NOT WORTH THE $$400 for ONE NIGHT!!