Ratings based on 1,842 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Massachusetts

Close to just about everything!

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Location and comfort
Location: The Freedom Trail, Duck Tours, Boston Pubs, Museums, the North End restaurants, Capital Hill, Bunker Hill and the Warren Tavern and Fenway Park.
My wife and I went to Boston to be with relatives visiting from the west coast and decided to stay at the Kimpton Onyx Hotel for Columbus Day weekend. We picked it mostly for it's location and proximity to my relatives lodging. Turns out we walked all over downtown Boston from there, Quincy Market & Faneuil Hall, capital hill, Cheers, Museums, to Charlestown and Bunker Hill. The Boston Garden is around the corner and North End restaurants are only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We had a wonderful stay in a very clean and comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Perfect location

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Actually, once we discovered how central the location was to the train, restaurants, and the general tourist stuff, we changed our rental car need to nearly 1/2 of what we had planned. We spent that money in the fine local restaurants, including the few block walk to Little Italy for amazing food. A great time, thank you KO!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, ON

Beat up hotel, wonky elevator, poor cooling.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Cons: Hire staff that are trained in the vacation/hotel business.
Location: No coffee, enough said.
There is no: concierge, no bellman, no assistance. The fella at the front desk would not help me find or give me the address to a place we wanted to go...(kept closing the computer screen so I couldn't see) There is no one to hail a taxi, so you are on your own. The bed was as hard as the floor. When we were going to our room a "guy" (no hotel badge but dressed in cleaning uniform?) in the elevator was super aggressive...What's your rm #??? So finally I said "why do you need to know?" and he says "Oh we had a problem on that floor and I didn't want you to go there and see it" Um gross... The elevator is bizarre... you have to hail the elevator and then send it back to hail the one on the left... They tried to change our room to a double bed from a king... NOT HAPPENING... Won't choose a kimpton property again, this is the second time we have had service issues with this group... They do not seem to be focused on real customer service... and I haven't even addressed here all that I could.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great hotel for work trip

Posted Oct 9, 2017
I stayed one night and wasn't disappointed. Nice clean room. I had a room with a King bed. There was plenty of room, comfortable bed, very clean bathroom. Mini bar had everything you may want (water, beers, wine, snacks). Room service is 24hrs and looked great. Will stay here again on my next trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Excellent location

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Good, great staff and good location. Bath was not as I prefer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Clean hotel with friendly and accommodating staff

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and infant. Check in was super fast and easy and the staff was so friendly! Our room was clean and well made, as was the bathroom. Plenty of towels and space to put your belongings in the bathroom. Valet parking is pricey ($47/day) but allows in-out service all day, which was great for us. Within walking distance of TD Garden and plenty of other sites (with the baby, we used the trolley to get around one day). Highly recommend this hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Hotel seriously lacking in cleanliness. Not sure what more you want me to say. Room was dirty and sheets were not clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location but too expensive

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Convenient to TD Garden and close to airport. Updated, clean room with decent amenities, but very small and dark with view of a wall. Way too expensive for what I got. Room service charges outrageous. Dark, dingy lobby. Bed very comfortable. Staff was nice. Next stay I would opt for a less expensive alternative.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Great Stay Until Hotel Valet Retrieved My Vehicle

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Comfy bed. Well appointed highly functional room.
Cons: Valet
Location: plenty to do and great location.
Stayed the night with my wife as part of an anniversary trip. Got to the hotel and the only option for parking was hotel valet. I was uneasy as I never let anyone drive my vehicle as it is a high end truck with very expensive wheels. As I handed my keys to the valet I let them know I was taking a leap of faith and to please be careful with the truck and especially the wheels and gave them $20.00. We got to our room and it was a great room. A little on the small side but well appointed and very functional. The bed was very comfortable. We were quite impressed. After a great night in Boston including a great dinner and a concert we enjoyed a great nights rest. The next morning we had to be up early to make it to the Patriots game. We gathered our stuff and gave valet our ticket while we checked out. When valet handed me the keys I asked if everything was good and they said yup no problems. I thanked them and gave them another $20.00. I walked around the vehicle to get in and one rim was SEVERELY damaged. not just a scratch or nick but the whole metal lip gone. The manager came out and was helpful in filing out the report. The most disheartening part was when I asked the manager if he needed a picture of the vehicle when I got their to prove damage and he said no that valet had admitted they did it. I was blown away since they said nothing to me and were gonna let me drive away. The damage was so bad that the vehicle drove with a wobble when I left. Now for the insurance claim.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Well designed room, super clean and great location