Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Staff nowhere to be found

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The staffing
when we checked into our room we noticed a bad mildew smell and there was only one coffe cup . The room wasn't very clean either.when we went to check out the staff wasn't there in the office. When we asked the staff in the restaurant next door they told us " well the might show up in a half hour or maybe in an hour or two. Because we had to leave early to beat the storms as we were crossing the Gulf Stream we had to leave the keys with the restaurant staff. When we got home we were charged an extra $72.00 on our bill. After many tries we still haven't gotten an answer as to why. We are now in the process of disputing the extra charge with our credit card company. Needless to say, overall not happy with our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Hotel Staff Deserve a 15 out of 10!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The Staff and the beautiful location. Rooms were large, comfortable, and very clean.
Cons: Fix anything the is broken and please cover the exposed electrical boxes on the docks.
The locals that work at OBB are absolutely awesome! From the beautiful smile of the check-in receptionist to the very helpful guys working the docks, everyone had a fantastic attitude! I felt very welcome; like some old friends were trying to help me. This included my cleaning staff, the bar tender by the pool, and the wait staff at the restaurant. I don't usually do reviews, but these outstanding employees deserve this review! That includes you Carl who I ran into on his evening off. He took time to introduce me to his family, etc., and offered me a drink. Thanks Carl! This review of the staff takes on more meaning if you understand that many of the staff's homes were destroyed in the recent hurricane! Talk about resilient and inspiring people! To management: Please share my kudos with your staff. You are very fortunate to have them and because of them, I will be back instead of going to Bimini. The facility endured a powerful hurricane this past year and is still repairing various areas. Although understandable, the deferred maintenance is my reason for a 3/5 rating for Facilities and a 4/5 overall rating. Once repaired, my rating would be 5/5. That and the "no-see-ums" (bugs that bite around dust and dawn) are my only complaints. To their credit, OBB was spraying some kind of pesticide around dusk. My advise: bring some good bud spray, your favorite fishing gear, and prepare to have a great time!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by James J from West Hartford CT

Paradise on the west end

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very fine. Loved this place. We had rental car, which I would recommend if you want to get back and forth from Freeport.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Beth Watson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay – so glad to read that you loved it here! We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice private peaceful resort.

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Remote location.
Cons: Maintenance.
Location: Not much to do nearby so be prepared to eat at the restaurants on site (which adds up)or stop at grocery store on the way to same to stock up a bit.
Nice place but state of the art gym is flat out wrong. Old equipment that has rarely seen maintenance it would seem. No tools to adjust the available bikes and they too seem like they see little maintenance. Tub didn't work. Don't get me wrong. Very nice place but seems they could use a maintenance person. Taking care of these type of things would make this the place you should not miss.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2016 by Resort Management, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting your comments and feedback from your recent stay at Old Bahama Bay – these are very useful for us and please be assured we will look into the situation at the fitness center. We hope we will be able to welcome you back very soon.
3 out of 5
by Steven from Leeds

Away from it all

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
We were unfortunate with our stay in a number of important respects. The hotel was a long way from anywhere. \\\\\\\\\there was a power cut in two of the 3 days we were there. Even when we had eklectricty we did not have TV one day and wifi was intermittent to say the least.. The manager was understanding and gave us a substantial credit agauinst the cost of our stay. She triued her best toi make us happy. You definitely need a car if you are staying there - unless you have a boat since there was a very nice marina.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016 by Beth Watson, Hotel Management
We are certainly sorry to hear that the island had power cuts during your stay with us. Thank you for acknowledging that Jackie did her best to make you happy. You are absolutely right that our resort is set apart from the hustle and bustle of the rest of the island. Our goal is to provide a tranquil, but activity-filled vacation experience. We do hope you will return and see what a true Old Bahama Bay holiday can be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Very far away any activities in Freeport but very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sharon C.

Relaxing Getaway

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Orbitz
W truly enjoyed our stay. It was very relaxing. The staff in every capacity were friendly and professional. The hotel is a bit far from Freeport so you have to hire a taxi to take you to see Freeport and the other Hotel and Shopping areas. (A half hour ride-but the driver was awesome). Also, where the beaches were beautiful we could not really swim. The food in the restaurant by the beach was delicious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Had fun. Weather was great. Would go again. Been to this country before & for the money we had a nice time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2015 by Resort Management, Hotel Management
We are delighted to hear that you had fun on your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Beautiful rooms close to beach

Posted Oct 19, 2015
We were there in low season so it was quiet and very relaxing. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Free use of paddle boards and kayaks was great. Beautiful location only drawback was,the seagrass which starts just several feet from the shoreline. We would return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2015 by Resort Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent visit and kind words about Old Bahama Bay. Just an FYI that the seagrass is an integral part of the local ecosystem acting as the nursery for many marine life species, which is why we do not remove very much of it. We are so pleased to hear that you would return to see us.