Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Property and staff
Location: Do snorkeling excursion, eat at Kool Vybes, Sharks, LTU, Canoe & Ivan's.
Definitely worth a visit! Great setting, housing, pool, rocks to jump from and Jamaicans! We liked the people staying with us and the employees were great. We hope to return someday with the family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Camilla, Hotel Management
Dear our Valued Guest, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at Tensing Pen, it was indeed an honor. Its true, our staff members will go above and beyond to ensure that your stay was memorable. I am thrilled to know that you had a great time and will return someday. Once again thanks a million for choosing Tensing Pen. 'One love
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great vacation experience

Posted Jul 24, 2017
My wife and I loved this vacation experience. Resort and staff were 5 stars! We loved the scenery of the cliffs, cliff diving & the snorkling was spectacular. Our opinion we tried other restaurants and came to the conclusion that Tenpen has the best food to offer. The food was delicious and the cooks prepared first class dinners. Staff & lifeguards were always pampering all the guest. We highly recommended Tenpen & would love to come back as often as possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Terrian, Hotel Management
Thank you for making it Tensing pen and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure having you here and looking forward to seeing you again. Have a wonderful evening. Terrian
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Wonderful, Relaxing, Paradise

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Had a wonderful, relaxing week at this beautiful resort. The location is amazing. You can jump from the cliffs into the beautiful blue sea. The staff are the best. Attentive, friendly. Loved the lifeguards, Kimo and Kim, and the beautiful dogs, Beezy and Sugar. One of the best sunsets I've ever seen anywhere. The food was delicious. Pensing Ten is the best! Will Return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Terrian, Hotel Management
Hi Phil, Thank you for making it Tensing Pen and we do hope to see you again. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to hosting you again. Have a wonderful evening.
5 out of 5
by kinta

The Best in the West!

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great staff/service! Total relaxation. Food at the property was better than eating anywhere else!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017
Thanks you fro your great review and it was our pleasure having you here. We are looking forward to hosting you again and even a few friends and family also. Have a wonderful evening and looking forward to hosting you again. Terrian
5 out of 5
by robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful Cliff-Side Resort

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: I loved the privacy and the view of the South Pillar, as well as the food at the restaurant.
Cons: The lock boxes were quite old and cost $100 if you lost the key. An electronic safe would be much better.
Location: Tensing Pen is located right alongside all of the other resorts in Negril, so it is never too far from a restaurant or market.
We stayed in the South Pillar, which was a stand alone house with an outdoor shower on the bottom and the room with a bathroom and balcony on the second story. The view went straight out to the ocean, over a foot-bridge where you could jump into the water. The privacy was absolutely perfect and waking up to the sound of the ocean could not be beat. The view from the balcony made for a phenomenal sunset. It was so nice to walk into the resort and be handed a welcome drink and upon entering the room, finding rose petals on the bed and complimentary waters and Red Stripes in the fridge. The staff was wonderful, notably the chefs in the restaurant. We enjoyed a lovely dinner and breakfast with them, that were obviously made with great care.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Terrian, Hotel Management
Thank you Emilia for choosing Tensing Pen and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you here and looking forward to hosting you again and hope you will bring some friends with you next time. Have a wonderful day.
5 out of 5
by Sky

A mini paradise

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel that is very unique. We felt completely relaxed the whole time we were there. They have plenty of places to lay down and enjoy the beauty of the ocean. We definitely plan to return. Our one downside was that we did not find the bed very comfortable, but that did not take away from the experience of being in such wonderful place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Most relaxing vacation ever!

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Privacy, privacy, privacy. Love all the little areas where you can just chill with each other.
Cons: Maybe the water in the showers? Scalding hot to freezing cold no matter how you try to adjust. Water out of bathroom tap only trickles.
Location: Try the jerk chicken across the street at kool vibes, it's delicious! Coldest beer around is next door at Sharks! LTU pub has great sandwiches.
My husband and I chose to celebrate our 20th anniversary at Tensing Pen and we were not disappointed. This was far and away our best vacation experience to date. Even though it was a "full house" during our stay, we couldn't tell. Everything is so quiet and private that it feels like you have your own little slice of paradise. The staff is amazing, the food exquisite, the grounds immaculate. We read several reviews before booking and are now ready to stand ground against the negative. Some of the things people complain about are just ridiculous. First of all, you are on vacation, so just relax mon. It's called island time, your drink gets to you when it gets to you, sit back and enjoy the sunset... Second, the dogs are the most chilled, relaxed dogs I have ever met. Not sure how anyone could be offended that there are pets on the property. I never saw any of their "business", heard a bark maybe once, and actually had to seek them out to get some dog snuggles if I wanted any. Third, I saw maybe one bug. I read some complaints about bugs!? Yes, I am from Minnesota, and my tolerance for insects is much higher than most, but seriously, like one bug... We will definitely be returning, but not soon enough. Until we do, I will hold onto the memories of snoozing in the late afternoon with the doors wide open and the waves crashing on the shore and soft reggae in the background. Much respect mon, much respect
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Terrian, Hotel Management
Thank you Nicosia for choosing Tensing Pen as your vacation spot and hope this was you best anniversary ever. We are very happy that you enjoyed yourself looking forward to hosting you again and hope you will bring some friends with you. It was a pleasure having you here and do have a wonderful day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

“Amazing!!!”

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Location: West end of Negril near many restaurants and other resorts. Close to Catch a Falling Star and Ricks Café .
The views are breath taking and makes for a wonderful relaxing vacation. The cottages and villas are beautiful and truly making for a welcoming stay. The staff was always very friendly and willing to go above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed from the second we sat down for lunch or walked in from an excursion they always were attentive and asked if we needed anything. We've stayed on the 7 mile beach several times before trying a place in the cliffs and we were so happy to change it up. From the views, service, and experience we will definitely be going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BirthdayTrip

Posted Oct 9, 2016
This was my first trip out of the USA! The Tensing Pen was MORE than I hoped for in an exclusive hotel!!! Great staff, AMAZING food, and the views were breath taking!