Ratings based on 2,918 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Outstanding!

Posted Oct 12, 2017
I travel pretty oftern to Boston on business but had never stayed in The Liberty. I was GLADLY surprised. As long as they have availability, I will always stay there from now on. The hotel is located across the street from the beautifilul Charles Lake for a perfect walk or run before of after work. The lobby is spectaculat, the rooms are absolutely great and the food of the restaurants excelent! On top of all that the service is second to none.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

great location in Beacon Hill..

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: staff and ambience
Cons: nothing
Location: great restaurants and shopping
fabulous location and beautiful hotel...great staff and service...very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, Canada

Top Notch in all Respects

Posted Oct 10, 2017
My wife and I went to Boston for a long weekend and stayed at the Liberty on the advice of a physician friend who had trained next door at MGH. We could not have been happier with the hotel. The location is excellent for all the downtown attractions and is right beside the Charles St. Red Line for "the T" which made for an easy trip to Harvard. The room was perfect and the TV (while we didn't watch much) was great with a multitude of sports channels. The concept of this hotel being a restored jail is fascinating. A wonderful job was done in preserving some of the original features. The lobby bar was comfortabe with good drinks and food. We will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
our second time staying at this hotel and it does not disappoint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Concord, NH

A gem in the city

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Being offered a glass of champagne at check in was an indication that this was going to be a special stay.
Location: Appreciated it's convenience to TD Garden and Beacon Hill; both walkable. Of course, the T station right outside the hotel is great too!
We decided to splurge and stay for a night while we were in town for a concert at the TD Garden. Originally hailing from Massachusetts, we were excited to see what they did with the old Charles Street Jail and we were not disappointed! The renovation from jail to luxury hotel was perfect in every way. The thought and execution of the smallest details to the larger theme made this a memorable stay. We walked to and from the show at TD Garden from the hotel - quickly and safely. Grabbing a quick bite and drink before the show at the Alibi was delicious and convenient. After the show, we stopped at Scampo for drinks at the bar and struck up conversations with other friendly patrons. The only less than positive comment I must make is the price tag. It's quite expensive but I'll admit the excellent customer service from the entire staff will bring us back.....soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach

Beautiful vibrant and an exciting hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2017
The hotel was absolutely stunning and the staff are very very personal but do CONFIRM your reservation TWICE mine was cancelled from overbooking without notice
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus

This hotel just don't care

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Traditional rich hotel. No honest
Cons: Please really care about your customers!
Location: Location is good. If nothing went wrong it would be a good experience
This hotel is a well developed one, with all the service you need. But maybe too much developed. They just don't care about you and simply follow the rules...There is a mess in their inner system, employee makes easy promises and put you into unwanted situation. Company paid one night I reserved one night but they charged me twice on the very high rate and refund my company...This situation involves several employee, none of them did the way they promised. Do not trust them!!! This is my worst experience! Absolutely black list
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Beautiful hotel and well located. Service could have been better, but overall a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport,RI

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Comfortable, aesthetically fabulous in every detail, had great vibes, loved the subtle humor everywhere about the building's former use as a jail. This was my first time at Liberty, looking forward to going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, canada

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
My husband and I stayed here for the night on our way home to a Canada from a trip to Rhode Island. The hotel staff were incredibly nice and the hotel was gorgeous. Great location! The fact it used to be a jail is so cool, make sure to check out the infomercial on your TV in your room about how it was remodelled.