Ratings based on 2,881 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Our fav Boston hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2017
You feel really well cared for here. It's pricey but worth it. Location riocks. Scampo the in house restaurant always great. Breakfast in your room is well worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this stellar review, we really appreciate it! We look forward to your next stay with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colombia

The worst experience ever

Posted Jul 13, 2017
This hotel is a two star hotel, absolutly disappointed with everything. Staff members were rude, the room was filthy and overall we had a very bad time for a very high price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review with us, and I’m sorry to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and luxury guest rooms, to hear that your experience feel short is disheartening to hear. Thank you for sharing this feedback which we have shared with our Management team. We hope that you will give The Liberty another chance on future travels to Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Amazing. Beautiful. Rooms could go a little colder.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review, we look forward to your next stay with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delmar, NY

Convenient to Mass General Hospital

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: cleanliness, convenience to our destination, excellent service.
Cons: air circulation in the room.
Loved this facility. Super clean, efficient service. Filled with History and yet luxurious and modern. Well appointed, fully stocked room. Super comfortable bed made for a great nights sleep. For the first time in months I woke up with no aches or pains! Lovely and spacious bathroom with all necessary amenities. Convenient location to hospital which was our destination. Had dinner at Scampo and it was sooo delicious. Cesare was a wonderful waiter. We followed several of his dinner selection suggestions and we were not disappointed. It was great not to have to leave the hotel to get such an outstanding dinner. I would definitely eat here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words regarding our convenient location, excellent service and unique history. We greatly appreciate it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Jail = Hotel good, staff = no good

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Cool concept. The bed was fantastic.
Cons: The hotel staff need to be trained very badly! Horrible quality of customer service, especially for a higher priced hotel!!
The parking/accessibility was very bad. The welcome was during a formal wedding, and all other guests (me/daughter) were treated poorly; we were asked to leave a seating area where no one else was seated, but it was marked 'reserved'. There was no where else to go....very uninviting. Would have been fine if we could go to room, but room not ready at normal check in time. No price list in fully stocked refrigerator, even when I called the front desk and requested one to be delivered. The on/off handle fell off of the shower...literally came off in my hand. When going out to see Boston, the concierge was not at the desk, and when I asked for someone to get her and requested clarification on her confusing directions, she was a bit 'snappy' and not at all clear. When checking out, we needed to go to the CVS across the street, and asked the reception/registration area to hold two carryon bags for just 5-10 minutes. When we returned, we were told by registration that the bags were at the Valet (which they were not), then when directed to a bag room, they didn't have the bags either. Finally, our bags were brought to us after being unattended while still at the registration area, and no one seemed to know where they were the entire time....very unorganized. Definitely not worth the exorbitant price, and I will tell others the same thing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynn, MA

Very close to Mass General Hospital

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: The hotel is steps away from Mass General hospital.
Beautiful room, comfortable bed and nice view of the Charles river. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words regarding our luxury guest rooms and friendly staff, we appreciate it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sarasota

Discrimination at Liberty Hotel Boston

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Beware of Club Alibi at Liberty Hotel. They lease space there and have a dress code policy that is discriminatory in nature and hotel management could care less.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review. The dress code at our nightlife venues is “casual chic” and is in no way discriminatory in nature. I apologize for any misunderstandings that you experienced at Alibi in relation to the dress code and its enforcement. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you will give The Liberty/Alibi another chance on future travels to Boston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Mostly good experience but the pillows and bed were very soft. More than the normal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words, we appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

A gem right at the doorstep of Beacon Hill

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: classy, cool and well situated for exploring the city
Cons: pricey
Location: easy stroll into Beacon Hill, Boston Commons and the train
Well appointed rooms, great restaurant and bar in hotel, walkable location to Boston's Beacon Hill neighborhood, super convenient access to the local train
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the complimentary remarks regarding our convenient location and luxury guest rooms, we appreciate it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Rating offset by subpar Front Desk staff

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: The good - excellent restaurants (a good thing b/c the immediate surrounding restaurants aren't great) & nice rooms. The workout room is small but ok
Cons: Front Desk staff. The view from the room varies but I got the lovely wall of Mass. General Hospital
Location: Not a whole lot in the immediate area but overall easy access to major arteries.
Stayed for work w/ an extension of one day to see Boston. See below for the good and bad. My issue was with the Front Desk staff - when I checked in, our Exec. Admin had misspelled my name and the woman who initially looked for the reservation "couldn't find it" although there was only one other person w/ my last name, plus only a minimal level of effort to piece the misspelled name together. She simply did not want to make the effort to help. I went to another young woman at the front desk and told her the problem and she eventually found it but never apologized and copped an attitude the entire time. I noticed she omitted the part where she came out from behind the counter to guide guest (me) to the elevator like she did for all others. The reservation I made on Expedia was messed up as it took only my middle initial as the first name in their system - hence they couldn't find either of my reservations! After a failed attempt at cancelling the second night, they couldn't configure the key correctly that connected the two reservations and then sent the portfolio for the stay to the wrong email address (I wonder who has mine). Again, no apologies, just snotty attitude on the part of the second of the two front desk folks who was working the day I checked out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed review. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your overall expectations on your recent stay at The Liberty. To learn that we did not earn a five-star review due to a less-than-stellar overall experience regarding various areas of your stay is disheartening to hear. We always strive to provide exemplary service to all of our guests, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this visit. We hope that you will give The Liberty another chance on future travels to Boston.