Ratings based on 2,900 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, canada

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
My husband and I stayed here for the night on our way home to a Canada from a trip to Rhode Island. The hotel staff were incredibly nice and the hotel was gorgeous. Great location! The fact it used to be a jail is so cool, make sure to check out the infomercial on your TV in your room about how it was remodelled.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

4 star ....not 5

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Not sure where the 5 star rating comes from, but we've stayed st many 5 star hotel (ie, Four Seasons, Ritz Paris, etc) and this is No 5-star hotel by any stretch of the imagination. 5 star hotels have a consistent impeccable attention to staffing attention and detail. So only book this place when you get a good deal and expect quality of a 4 star. Case in point: when we checked in, there was some (albeit) trash left in the room, the bellman knocked the plastic clock off the wall while bringing a rollaway in for our son (which was such a poor mattress even a kid woke up in pain), the rollaway couldn't go in the first room they put us in by fire code, so they moved us, but took 20 min and a reminder call for bellman to bring us the jets to new room, charged for the new room "upgrade" which was actually smaller and less attractive, and new room had plugged up sink and barely working water in sink (no water pressure) which required an engineer just as we are going to bed. Bedding and main beds were very comfortable, but that is the only positive. Furthermore, when we checked in it was a hotel turned into a very loud Club, as the weekend evenings are a huge music blasting party with drunk college kids in the entire lobby / hotel center, which was super annoying after a long flight. Apparaently, they do this every Friday and Sat night, but no mention on the website. Also, room service was sooooo expensive it matched the Ritz Paris in price, but only at lower quality
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A dissapointing experience

Posted Sep 11, 2017
I was very excited to stay at this hotel for a birthday celebration weekend. I travel to Boston quite often and wanted to stay at least once in this historic hotel. However, the stay was mediocre at best and annoying at times. At check-in, one hour after check-in started, I was told my room is not ready and will try to expedite its cleaning. After waiting for a while, I went back to ask about the room status, had to again wait in line to get to talk to someone and finally got another person to help me out with the room. Both people at check-in forgot to offer the complimentary drink and had to ask for it. Did not give any information about WiFi, breakfast options, you know, nothing that resembled like they knew what they were doing or they cared. At this point I downgraded my expectations significantly. On the maintenance side, the toilet flushed almost continuously, had to fiddle with it to get it to stop. We had dinner at Scampo, and again, experience was just meh. Good food, but mediocre service, mediocre restaurant layout, just nothing to be excited about. We were dressed up for a celebration, the server did not even bother to ask if we are celebrating something. I am a seasoned traveller and have seen both much better and much worse, but my personal recommendation is to look elsewhere for the price (both hotel and restaurant) there are so many wonderul options throughout Boston and Cambridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review and I am sorry to hear that The Liberty did not fully meet your expectations on your recent stay. We strive to provide a five-star experience to all guests, and hope that you will give us another chance on future travels to Boston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Touring Boston

Posted Sep 10, 2017
We had a fantastic experience at the Liberty. We got married a couple days before our visit and then we stayed at the Liberty with family members visiting from Spain. Everyone had a fantastic time! Our dog was welcome! Our nieces enjoyed the hotel. We loved the location and the history of the property !
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the complimentary remarks regarding our convenient location and unique history, we really appreciate it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from knoxville

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Our stay at the liberty hotel was fabulous!!! We enjoyed the restaurants and bars and the decor was out of this world!!! We will be coming back and staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for this wonderful review! We look forward to your next stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Pete, Florida

I Love historical renovations and 5-Star Service

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: just about everything
Location: walk to most everything
As a BIG FAN of both well done historical renovations AND of 5-Star service, I was 100% thrilled with my experience here at Liberty Hotel in Boston. The building, a former and notorious jail, the rooms, the service, the staff, everything, was just fantastic. Bravo!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Wow, thank you for this excellent five-star review! We appreciate the complimentary remarks and look forward to your next stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Hotel has so much character. Friendly staff. Lots of history.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the complimentary remarks regarding our friendly staff and unique history. We hope to see you back at The Liberty again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

DisAppoints

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Gone to room...smelly..was so bad we needed to go to front desk..and REPORT..clean the room or move us Outdoor bar closed early..sat at bar just to hear...bartender very rudely state....we are closing...go inside if u want to drink. Was suppose to get a credit for our disappointed stay....never came ):
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville, ON

Great hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Interesting and beautiful luxury hotel with lots of history. Hard to believe this was an old prison from the 1900's. Wonderful service, accommodations and within walking distance to everything. Wish we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bayside,ny

Best accommendation ever and just wonderful

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff are more courteous than other places we have stayed.
Cons: More knowledgeable of notable site and recommendation to visitors to visit.
Only wish staff be more knowledgeable of the area could recommend to visitors instead of referring someone else. Otherwise, overall, just wonderful. If only we can stay longer to see more sites I.e. A week, for example.