Ratings based on 2,969 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Perfectly located elegant hotel. Wonderful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the five-star review and for the complimentary remarks regarding our friendly staff and convenient location, we appreciate it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very Cool Hotel. Exceptional Service.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: staff very helpful & pro-active i wish i knew the name of the bellhop - went beyond to fix problems & provide service. actually solved billing issue.
Location: walking distance to everywhere
Great service. Everyone was friendly and dedicated to ensuring a first rate experience. Super cool digs. Great location in Beacon Hill that is walking distance to everything. Special recognition should be paid to the bell hop. I wish I knew his name but I never got it. In any event, he went above and beyond to make my stay pleasant and to solve for any problems. Quick anecdote I noticed when checking out ... the woman in front of me ordered room service. It had not yet posted on her bill and she wanted to cover it with a separate (non business) credit card. The woman at the front desk was struggling to come up with a solution. The porter, who had the guest's bag in hands, sprung into action. He called the kitchen and room service and made sure that they expedited the processing so that should could pay immediately. It sounds trivial .. but really stuck me as a great example of exceptional service. Everyone at the hotel was on board with solving an issue immediately so the guest had no stress at all. I hope the hotel reads this and recognizes his work and pro-active contribution to creating a special culture.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for this detailed review and for the complimentary remarks regarding our stellar guest service, it means so much to us! We look forward to your next stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Wow! This hotel lived up to all our expectations!

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Right across from the redline, just fifteen minutes walk to Fanual Hall, this was a great location. Top notch accommodations and delightful staff all around! Who would think a weekend in the clink could be so luxurious! Can't wait to go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Wow, thank you so much for this excellent review! We look forward to your next stay with us!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unorganized and condescending

Posted Nov 27, 2017
We arrived at 5 pm on 11/25 to check in to our two queen bed reservation. The woman at the front desk told us they only had king rooms available. She ordered a quick clean of a double queen room and took our number and said it would be about 20 minutes. We took a walk around the neighborhood and never heard from the hotel. We arrived back and once again had to " check in" and the front desk gave us an " upgraded double queen room" and said they would deliver our bags immediately. They gave no explanation to why no one had called from our first check in. After waiting 25 minutes we called down to the front desk again and asked for our bags. They finally arrived ( by a very nice porter) but we were unable to shower and freshen up before our dinner reservations. The most frustrating part was the staff ( including the lounge waitress who told us there were always long lines at check in ...like it's normal??) ) appeared put out and snooty and seemed like it was no big deal to sit in their lobby with all our travel gear and wait.....I can understand if we were checking in early or right at the time allowed but we were already a late check in at 5pm. We understand things happen but in this day and age we were surprised by the poor customer service and not even a free beverage offered. Disappointed in Starwood!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review and I'm sorry to hear that your stay was less than exceptional due to a room readiness issue. We hope that you will reconsider The Liberty on future travels to Boston, thank you for sharing this feedback with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too loud

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Came in with kids on a Friday night- 30 people outside main door blocking our entry waiting for rides. No self-park. Inside booming loud music in atrium lobby for a reunion and a wedding. Room is away from the noise but small. No actual door on bathroom - just a sliding one, which isn't that private. Strange odor up on the floor. Not at all what I expected, and not at all seeming like a luxury hotel. Not for us!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
We do have an energetic nightlife environment at The Liberty Bar on Friday and Saturday nights, I am sorry to hear that this was not to your liking. Our guest rooms are a comparable size to others in Boston; it's unfortunate to hear that you were not a fan of the rooms. We hope that you will give The Liberty another chance on future travels to Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Hotel close red line to airport

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Excellent stay overnight with a great restaurant Scampo which I enjoyed Very much
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the excellent review and wonderful feedback on Scampo, we appreciate it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Great hotel. We’ve stayed everywhere in Boston over the past 30 years. This certainly among the best. And it is so central to all the activities that are available in the centre if the Hub.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
What an excellent review! We appreciate the kind words and look forward to your next stay with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin tx

Terrible customer service

Posted Nov 11, 2017
I booked a non-refundable room and accidentally selected the wrong day. Within hours of doing this I noticed my mistake and tried to get the date either changed or the reservation nullified. They didn’t budge at all. Basically a big F you. I even had Expedia try to help to no success. Hotels are all about service and this is one of the worst experiences I’ve ever had with a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review. We apologize that we were unable to make a change to your room reservation due to the type of reservation, which was a non-changeable rate, disclosed at the time of booking. We apologize for the inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden fees

Posted Nov 10, 2017
We liked the hotel with all of the history. It was very clean and great place to stay. Walking distance to arena and the Freedom trail. Did not know about the valet parking being as high it was, (55.00) a night, nor the resort fee (25.00) a night in addition to the room fee. Just a little surprising to get an additional $79.00 with tax at check out. Other than that, a great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review. We will ensure that our communication about these fees is clear and consistent, and hope that you will continue to choose The Liberty on future travels to Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western, MA

In town for business function

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Nice time as always. Great location in Boston to walk to numerous venues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this fantastic review!