Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was fully booked

Posted Nov 29, 2017
We were not able to stay at this hotel because they were fully booked and didn’t understand how we were able to get a reservation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, I would love to assist you. if you would like to contact me please do. Cassandra General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cool

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Nice people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We look forward to having you return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Pleasant stay, not an all inclusive

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Cassandra is great. The individual villas are nice. The pool was quiet and plenty of chairs.
Cons: Only one station on the tv, which was fine for us. Internet was spotty with my phone but my computer had no trouble.
Location: Location is outside of town, cabs weren't really an issue to get around. We rented mopeds, but if you're faint of heart I'd skip that.
Overall the facility is nice, they do a good job disguising the thin strip with the natural fauna and the layout. The villa we stayed at was clean and fairly well stocked for our purposes. Everything worked mostly and the only thing we asked for was a coffee maker that was immediately provided. Cassandra does a very nice job making sure everything is going well and helping out with the locals. The bar is hit or miss as it's never busy (at least not when we were there). So sometimes you head over and there's no bartender. Wasn't a big deal and we didn't even care enough to mention it while we were there. The pool is nice and we had no trouble finding seats. There's no restaurant there, but there's three places that are an easy walk (or as easy as it ever is in Jamaica, if you're not used to the city there's going to be some culture shock about the drivers). It's pretty easy to convert US to Jamaican, but you have to watch and keep track.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Hi Mary. Thank you for the review and the kind words. It was great to have you here, I have a feeling you will be back again someday. Until then all the best. Cassandra and VSM team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden oasis

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Orbitz
We traveled with two couples to negril and chose the villas because they had two bedroom houses. Upon arrival we were thrilled with our choice. The property is beautiful, the villas were comfortable and pretty and the staff was helpful and accommodating. Cassandra helped us plan excursions and get around negril. Our driver made us feel safe and took us to some great places! My only complaint is that the outdoor furniture was older and some of it was cracked. Overall we had a wonderful stay and hope to return soon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Hello anonymous and thank you for your review. I would like to extend my thanks for choosing Villas Sur Mer, I am happy you all had a great time. Please come back to visit us again. Cassandra and the VSM team
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

The most relaxing trip we've ever taken

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Villas Sur Mer is and was one of our most relaxing vacation spots. The area is not for those looking for an Americanized experience. We were very well taken care of by the kindest and happiest staff who watched out for our safety at all times and catered to all of our needs. The room we stayed in was separate from other guests, which we wanted and we had the privacy we needed to decompress from a very hectic lifestyle. Fortunately we had direct access to the lagoon just steps from the property, and at most times we felt as though we had our own private lagoon. Please know that this area is not for anyone who does not have adventurous spirit with flexibility and the desire to explore what may be uncomfortable cultural experiences. If you want to dive right into the Jamaican culture without the Americanization of the hotels on the beach, then stay at Villas Sur Mer. We will come back and stay with you again. Thank you to Cassandra, the property manager who became a dear friend, Richard, Marlon, Clover, VJ, Janine and Torrence who watched us and kept us safe. You are all very dear to us and we thank you for making our trip one of the most relaxing and lovely trips we've ever had. We miss you already. Don't forget to eat at Eanon's jerk Chicken steps from the Villas, it's the best jerk chicken you'll ever have! We miss him, he also became a dear friend. We will be back. Jah Rastafari! Peace and love.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good morning and thank you for the kind words about your stay with us. It always makes the team happy when we hear that our hard work is recognized. However saying that, when we have special people like you two it makes it easy to go the extra mile. You are truly missed here and we know that you have brought home some lovely memories of Jamaica. We cannot wait to have you back. Warmest regards, Cassandra and the VSM team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Nice

Posted Aug 10, 2016
If you are looking for different this is the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by VSM Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for you review. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BEST IN THE WEST

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Absolute perfection. From the breathtaking villas to the stunning grounds. The staff at the Villas Sum Mer are at the top of their game. The staff all went way above and beyond to make our stay something we will remember and talk about for a lifetime. It is hard to find a combination of privacy and service, but we are here to tell you these folks have done it. We loved it so much we booked another trip with Villas Sur Mer before we checked out...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for the review. We here at Villas Sur Mer felt pretty sad the day you two left. It was so lovely having you here and watching you fall in love with Villas Sur Mer and Jamaica. It is guests like you that make what we do an absolute joy. The countdown begins for your return, we cant wait! Cassandra
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Location

Posted May 3, 2016
The Villas Sur Mer is a little to rustic for my taste. Rooms need some paint, new linens and better cooling systems. But that being said, it is located in a very beautiful area and has the best staff I've ever I encountered.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We take pride in our team,and we thank you for your kind words about them. We have air conditioners in every bedroom and ceiling fans in the ceilings as well. We are sorry you were disappointed we would love to have you back again to make it right.
4 out of 5
by Bianca

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Cassandra, Hotel Management
We thank you for your review. Please come visit us again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ/NY

Terrible stay

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: room description, cleanliness of room, insect net and screens
Location: Hotel on less desirable side of the road
Buyer beware this hotel only has 1 villa cliffside. The other accommodations are across the road and appear to back up to a salvage yard. Our room was a suite not a villa. We assumed the room walls were dirty. However, we came to realize those were previous "bug kills" after we were swarmed at night due to the room having no screens and no insect net around the bed. Additionally, the windows were missing pins to close the shutters and the wood of the door was broken. This hotel should not be a four star. It lacks a kitchen or restaurant and the bar is quite limited. Unfortunately, I missed a similar review to mine on expedia pointing out some of these issues. We checked out the next day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2016 by Admin, Hotel Management
Dear Rob, We are sorry that you had such an experience as we make every effort to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay. Your comment is noted but it is first of such review on Expedia or anywhere for that matter, we do appreciate the feedback and endeavor to look into this matter.