Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delaware

Close to Joshua Tree National Park

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Loud, a/c was loud and very cold - even when set to warmer. Clean and convenient though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los angeles

New bed. Great nights sleep.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The BED
Cons: newer towels, bleached
Location: Excellent location for Joshua Tree National Park. Very convenient. many places to eat/shop for food.
The hotel is a little dated and rough around the edges, but they have spent their $ where it counts - on the BED. Great mattress, new, and clean sheets. The towels are your typical "sandpaper rough/thin towels", found in most Indian owned motels. For the price, it's a good deal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic but convenient accommodation

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
The High Desert Motel is very convenient to Joshua Tree National Park. It is a very basic motel, clean but could use some updating and repair. Great small cafe/restaurant, Natural Sisters, just further down the road in the town centre. Great food ! Joshua Tree National Park is terrific !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Joshua Tree NP

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Location to park and town.
Nice stay while we visited the park every day. Not fancy. Good value for the money.
3 out of 5
by Patrick

Good room at a decent rate, but WiFi failed

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Fine basic hotel room at a good rate. WiFi gave up after a few hours, which was disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Clean bright nice motel. Close to Joshua Tree. I like it.
3 out of 5
by Kathryn

Food for thought

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
This was truly a budget hotel. You registered through a glass window by sliding your card and ID through an opening. This was something we hadn't run into in any of our previous budget hotel stays. I'd say it would be worth the extra 20-30 dollars a night to go with a chain hotel if you are hiking Joshua Tree all day. Pros: clean, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator (usually not all three with a budget hotel); WiFi Cons: mandatory service of the room (stayed 2 nights); we usually don't get service, there was a charge for ice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate older Motel close to the Nat'l Park

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: sUpdat furnishing
Location: Good location
Decent Motel for the price. However the price increased by twice for the weekend so I left.
5 out of 5
by Laura

Recomended!

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent value - simple, clean, safe. Wi-fi good, fridge & microwave very handy. Location great for visit to Joshua Tree National Park. Bonus: beautiful sunrise views! I will definitely stay there again next time I'm in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Decent lower-cost motel

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: fine for the price
Location: at the poorer end of town, but safe. clean and neat bed adequate
Nothing luxurious here - but a good value. Small room, right next to the street so a little noisy