Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Posted Sep 22, 2016
I hate to write a bad review about anything...but this is an exception. Arrived just after 8 PM.Read the sign on the desk.."No front desk staff after 8."Called from the phone at the desk, Person on the other end seemed 'put out' that I arrived when I did.Waited for 20 + minutes for somebody to show up. Told there was no wifi.Thats fine but another inconvenience. To get to the room was a maze.A maze that was extremely poorly lit. Carrying bags down dark halls with unseen steps was a challenge. Got to the room,only to find it was infested with bed bugs. Left immediately with our bags. Booked another hotel elsewhere. Went to go back to retrieve small items that we left behind,only to realize we were locked out and nobody to contact.Went back the next morning to tell of my experience. The only reply I got from staff... "Did you try opening the front door?" Incredible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

near to menin gate.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: breaskfast was typical continental.
Location: good location next to the main square.
room good c/w coffee/tea making facility,fridge,however the room was quite dark as it was in keeping with the theme of ww1.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

WW1 Millitary theme hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Location and breakfast in the "Canteen" were very good.
Cons: Need someone pleasant at front desk. Change web site to 3 pm check in. Indicate on web site military theme.
Location: Near Flanders Field museum and Mennen Gate, bars, restaurants & shopping.
Arrived at 2 pm, rudely told to come back at 3 pm. 5 arriving Australians were treated the same. Elevator and wifi unavailable that day. Tin army boxes and jerry cans instead of real furniture. The owners seem to be stretched looking after two hotels. Parking needs to be requested ahead of time, and about 20 minutes walk away in secure location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location, below average facilities

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Check-in took 20 minutes due to slow computer. Room had no wardrobe or chest just a short rail for clothes with 3 hangers, room safe didn't work. Great view over the main square but room was in the roof space with no air conditioning so very hot at night. All the rooms, fittings and decor are war-themed and coloured dark brown. Breakfast buffet was OK but food left uncovered for flies to wander on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to centre

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: Close to centre
Cons: The shower needs big upgrade and reception at front desk all the time not having to wait 15 -20 mins for check in
No ac and the shower is a hand shower handle with little water pressure
4 out of 5
by Anthony from Maidstone

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
Unusual decor but very comfortable and convenient for the city centre.
4 out of 5
by Neville from UK

Trip home

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in an excellent location. All of the staff were polite and helpful. Only a current refurbishment programme stopped me from awarding full marks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK

On the doorstep

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom needs updating
This was our second time staying at this hotel. No it's not the Ritz by any means but it is literally on the doorstep of the main square in Ypres which means you can have a drink or two and not worry about driving or taxis. It's clean, tidy, warm and functional. The bathroom could do with an update, but for the price, a great little stopover.
5 out of 5
by John from Redhill, Surrey.

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Helpful staff
3 out of 5
by suzanne m from Curdridge

nice stay

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
went over to see war graves