Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value basic hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Good location near seafront, good sized room
Cons: It's creeping shabbiness needs addressing
This appears to be a hotel that was once rather grander than now and there is evidence generally of the need for some rennovation or at least some re-decoration. However, everything seemed to be clean, the room was spacious, airy and comfortable and the breakfast was reasonable.
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Leeds

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Go knowing this is a cheap and cheerful 2 star hotel but in the knowledge that the staff will go the extra mile for you.
5 out of 5
by DAVID from STOCKPORT

OSTEND SHORT BREAK

Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Hotels
GREAT HOTEL VERY CLEAN AND GOOD BREAKFAST
4 out of 5
by Teresa from Swindon

One night stay

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for 1 night and the room was comfortable and adequate for our needs. We didn't have breakfast so cannot comment. Hotel is very central for beach and nightlife.
4 out of 5
by George from Glasgow but living in Swindon

a break without hassle

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
we only go for one or two nights and find this hotel suits our needs it gives us a break and this time we used the eurotunneland found that very convenient without the hassle of the ferry and we will be using this hotelfor our future trips
4 out of 5
by Anthony from newtown , powys

happy hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
very freindly hotel close to everything had a marvelous time defo go again
4 out of 5
by Andrew from leeds

you get what you pay for

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels
The New Astoria is 2 star so it is what it is. Very clean, very friendly staff and unlike some breakfast is included.. I always enjoy staying there because it is central to everything from seafront to shops.
4 out of 5
by murray from brighton

Ostend short break.

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
Short break in Ostend.Hotel very conveniently located to town center.good parking nearby.Friendly hotel staff with a nice atmosphere.
4 out of 5
by Dave from England

new Astra hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels
Very good budget hotel underground carpark quite dear but I would use again
2 out of 5
by Ironhead from Orpington

Sleepless Nights

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: 2 mins from beach. Eateries everwhere. Spar around corner. Bicycle hire places. Bicycle routes. Tram 4 euro day pass De Panne to Knokke via Ostend.
The hotel is 2 star so I was not expecting the Ritz. It is in a good location and is clean. The decor is a little tired as was the en suite shower room. The breakfast was good as were the staff. What let the hotel down was the lack of air conditioning and noisy streets outside. The room temperature would rocket without the double glazed french doors being open. There was no alternatie means of venting the room. Unfortunately this means you are kept awake until the small hours as the streets outside are noisy. People shouting and traffic.