Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The good, bad and ugly in Ostend

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
1. Hotel did not want to accept any cards other than Visa or cash despite what I was led to believe by Hotels.com website. Also I was asked to pay at check in rather than at checkout as is normal 2. The room and bathroom were small and smelly and definitely not value for money. This was in great contrast to the bright and well furnished reception area 3. The staff appeared unfriendly, unhelpful and uninterested in fielding queries or complaints, basically trying to suggest "we have other more important local people or groups to look after". This was very strange for this part of the normally hospitable Belgian region 4. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. 5. There was an evening meal possible at the hotel restaurant but no one told us about it and the opening times. Also that it was necessary to book at least one day before to get served on the following day. Not helpful at all if staying for one night only and not wanting to go out exploring other restaurants 6. The hotel is not on seaside but fairly near it and within short distance to shops and town centre
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in Ostend

Posted Jul 9, 2015 on Hotels
Have visited this hotel many times - always try to book it when I travel to Belgium. I love the friendly atmosphere and fresh clean rooms. We had a room this time on the main street and unfortunately it was a bit noisy because we had the windows open before of the hear and there were lots of people walking past (and the streets seem to echo). Apart from that we had a fantastic time.
5 out of 5
by lawrence from gloucester

group weekend

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
it was very good and it suited us all very well clean and comfortable rooms little small but it did not matter.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Awful

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: As stated above
Location: We were unable to enjoy any of the sights as there was a gale force wind blowing
From the moment we entered the hotel, we were disappointed. The hotel has a decaying fish smell, is a bright overpowering pink colour on the floor we stayed. We were unable to eat breakfast as the overpowering smell did not evoke an apetite. Their was no parking and we had to pay an astronomical price to park overnight. There is sadly nothing positive about my stay and I will not recommended this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HALLOWEEN

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels
AS USUAL A GREAT STAY, GOOD HOTEL WITH FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by bluepastures from Chelmsford

Large hotel in central Ostend

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
Probably the biggest in central Ostend, the largest resort (along with Knokke) on the Belgian coast. Ideally located off any main roads, so no road noise audible. Wide variety of breakfast selection, but would recommend going when opens at 0800 as does get extremely busy. Free wifi is only available in lobby and bar, though can pay to have in room (I just used it in the bar). Bar opens until midnight everyday and seems reasonably priced with a good selection of Belgian beers on tap. Both rooms and the bathroom are moderately large. No tea or coffee in rooms but that is a rarity in anything but the 4 or 5 star hotels on mainland Europe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec

Very economical hotel near the centre of the city.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Price, location, free Internet in the lobby, good breakfast.
Location: Right in the middle of Ostend, 15 minutes to the train station and coastal tram.
You can't beat the location, about a 15 minute walk from the train station and right off the fisherman's wharf area. Loads of excellent restaurants, five minutes to the beach, decent breakfast included. The room as absolutely basic and no air conditioning, which wasn't a problem while I was there, as there seem to be cool breezes of the North Sea. It was clean and the washroom was fine. Spent most of my time exploring as many pubs and restaurants as I could while wandering around the fine beach area. Close to the train and 15 minutes to Bruges, but take the time to see what Ostend has to offer, and you won't be disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Hotel in need of decoration. Staff not particularly helpful or friendly. When we checked in we were assigned rooms & they were smoking rooms-- no- one asked our preference. Shower head was broken, pillows very hard. Very dissappointing.
5 out of 5
by BMJ from UK

Great service

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent value for money, great location and efficient staff, would certainly go back again.