Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
37% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CO

Convenient to nearby VA Hospital

Posted Apr 13, 2018
I stayed 2 nights here due to early medical appointments at VA Hospital which is only about a mile or two away. It has the basics, tho’ juice dispenser did not work for breakfast, which was also a basic affair—waffle maker, toaster & packaged pastries. There is a coffee maker in the room & mini refrigerator. Staff pleasant & helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Haven CT

Not nice

Posted Apr 13, 2018
Supposed to be non smoking and it wasn't. Put us on 2nd floor way at back of building when there was all kinds of non smokibg rooms on 1st floor at front of building.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2018 on Hotels
Amazing loved it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good if all you want is to rest

Posted Nov 30, 2017 on Hotels
I sleep well at this hotel, and I don't know why. Since I only come to rest, I don't ask for more. For my needs, I am very happy with it. The location is good, it's 10 minutes walk from West Haven rail road stop, where You can take Metro North. I am frugal, and now prefer this hotel than the hotels in New Haven, which cost twice or more. Morning air is fresh, and there's a good Chinese restaurant near by. I will be coming again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Himanshu Rajgor, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out to provide us with a review of your stay. We would be glad to see you again whenever you are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west haven ct

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Hotel is ok overall only issue is that you have to climb through windows sometimes door get stuck
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Himanshu Rajgor, Hotel Management
We apologize for the door key not working as our key making machine was out of order and we had to open the doors for each guest manually. The problem has since been fixed.
4 out of 5
by Danny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia PA

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Was clean. Staff friendly. They are having problems with their key card writing machine. As a result every time any guest needed to get into their room, staff person had to go with a door lock reset box and manually open the door. If that didn’t work,,,the staff used a crow bar. Doesn’t exactly leave a the impression your belongings are safe when not you are not in the room. Other than that good stay.
2 out of 5
by stephen

Posted Oct 30, 2017 on Hotels
Unfortunately, I have nothing nice to comment.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Keene NH

Will never come back

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Ease of check-in
Cons: Breakfast options. Providing the type of room that is request. Asked to sign a blank price registration slip.
This hotel placed us into a smoking room when I specifically selected a non-smoking room. We arrived to this establishment later than we had planned and we were not informed that what we had booked would not actually be what we would receive. When we got into our room, there was an ash tray on the bedside table yet we were exhausted and therefore did not mention this to the staff. As we settled into the room, we noticed the smell of cigarette smoke but believe that maybe someone was standing outside of our room smoking or were smoking in a room next to ours. When we woke up however, it was apparent even after showering that this was a smoking room as all of our clothes smelled like smoke. We specifically requested a non-smoking room through Orbitz and this location did not keep up its agreement to us as the customers and its commitment to Orbitz in providing what their customers explicitly request. We will not be returning, ever, to this location in West Haven. Additionally, the continental breakfast that the hotel provided only consisted of yellow delicious apples, cold breakfast cereal, and waffles. There were no options that included protein and none that were gluten free, apart from just an apple. This was also incredibly frustrating as we selected this location because it included breakfast and it was something we were hopeful was already taken care of in the bill for this hotel we had already paid for.
1 out of 5
by serena

I wish they would give free stay to make up

Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
The check in time used to be at 12pm now they will charge you an extra 40$ before 3pm. Then i had to pay an extra 75$ for the room i already paid for and The waterfall didn't work. The fridge was missing. Microwave was away from the Wall to work. Ac blew out warm air at night. I'm a loyal customer. This gets 0 stars from me this time. I wish they would apologize and give me complimentary free stay to make up for the horrible service