Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec

Disappointing

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and staff. Good location.
Cons: Room quality, bed, air conditioner.
Location: Near Jaffa street and close to the old city.
Poor room quality. Old dilapidated bed. Air Conditioner not working properly. Staff had to jam a piece of plastic next to plug to keep it from falling lut. Had to turn blades manually inside airconditioner to get it to start. Headboard to bed was some sort of do it yourself piece of wood that was silicon glued to the wall. Ugly and dirty looking. Shower head useless as it would not stay in any pisition other than pointed directly at the shower wall. Had to point it with one hand making showering uncomfortable and tedious. Breakfast though nice assortment of breads, cheese, salads, cereals, juices, and coffes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Cheap, basics-only— well located if you find it!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The staff wanted to be helpful and were patient with me. Someone on staff kindly took my luggage up to my room
Did not want to spend much money on a room. Wanted a hotel where breakfast would be included. Wanted a place centrally located and easy to reach on foot from the central bus station. This hotel met those criteria with a few caveats... Hotel Palantin is very old and has no elevator, with a steep flight of stairs just to reach the check-in on the second floor. It is ideal for students, those on tight budgets and those who would not struggle with luggage as they ascended 3 or 4 flights of stairs! As a 71-year-old woman on my own it might not have been the right place for me. I did not find air conditioning in the room, just a ceiling fan! Description for this hotel needs to pinpoint its location. I would NEVER have found it by its actual street address because the end of the street where it is located was fully hidden down an alleyway, not accessible by car. Promote Hotel Palatin as "Steps from intersection of King George & Yaffa Streets." Then I might have found it without walking several kms and more than an hour too far. Only the kindness of a stranger who knew the neighbourhood saved me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Palatin Hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Located closed to the market and the tram. excellent Israeli breakfast included. Staff very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient position

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: A total refurb would be an excellent idea. Better carpets would help
Location: I don't know, it was a Jewish Holiday
You get what you pay for, and the price was reasonable for a central hotel on a Jewish Holiday.My room was small and tired with very basic fixtures, the bathroom toilet wasn't fitted straight and there was an old and brown hairdyer on the wall.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto. Canada

Old Hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: The daily Breakfast
Cons: The rooms require complete renovation
Location: Excellent Location and within walking distance of all places of religious interest
Hotel is very old. Room allocated for the first 3 days was in a bad state. Air Conditioner was leaking and the floors were wet. Breakfast though the same menu every day was good and was the only plus point. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There is no lift and hence had to carry the bags. Although I was promised a room on the ground floor technically it was not the ground floor as there are no rooms on the ground . Had to climb two flight of stairs. Was transferred to the 2nd floor after the 3 night which was definitely a better room but very tiny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted May 21, 2017
We stayed only 2 stops from the Old City perfect location great rooms clean and comfortable just what we needed. Friendly staff great food will definitely go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best location-in the center of Jerusalem,

Posted May 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location,location and location
Cons: Elevator
Location: All is near by.
The Palatin hotel is in the best location in the center of Jerusalem. It is convenient to almost any site of interest, restaurants and shopping. It is quite basic but pleasant and provides a good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Good at this Price

Posted May 14, 2017
Clean, well-located, with a polite, responsive staff, and a good breakfast. Not the King David but good at this price range.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted May 13, 2017
Very convenient, great location, but very run down . Breakfast was good, staff was excellent
5 out of 5
by Rebecca

A great find

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
The location is situated perfectly to get to know Jerusalem. This is not a luxury hotel, but is comfortable and quaint, perfect for my tastes. Breakfast is plentiful, delicious, and local. Shlomo at the desk was a great advisor for trip particulars. The only thing I did not like was the character of the area after sundown.