Ratings based on 523 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pembroke, GA

Location

Posted Dec 5, 2017
For me it was the best location for me to connect with old friends and make more on my journey in the promise land.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in good area and close to Jaffa gate 15 minu

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Hotel is in good location for Jaffa gate and also Ben Yehuda two minute walk. Good light rail link and buses and sm Hotel Staff excellent and very helpful. The Hotel itself is not dated and our room needed painting as scuff marks on walls and old marks from leak in ceiling needs repairing. Breakfast ok but needs more variety like fresh fruit and like some meats but otherwise enough for good breakfast. Endless fruit juices and teas & coffees. We love the hotel location and use it because of that and the friendly and extremely helpful staff.. Definately go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel close to old city

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: lo
Cons: Obviously it would be better
It was a good time expended however I think it could be much better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec

Disappointing

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and staff. Good location.
Cons: Room quality, bed, air conditioner.
Location: Near Jaffa street and close to the old city.
Poor room quality. Old dilapidated bed. Air Conditioner not working properly. Staff had to jam a piece of plastic next to plug to keep it from falling lut. Had to turn blades manually inside airconditioner to get it to start. Headboard to bed was some sort of do it yourself piece of wood that was silicon glued to the wall. Ugly and dirty looking. Shower head useless as it would not stay in any pisition other than pointed directly at the shower wall. Had to point it with one hand making showering uncomfortable and tedious. Breakfast though nice assortment of breads, cheese, salads, cereals, juices, and coffes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Cheap, basics-only— well located if you find it!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The staff wanted to be helpful and were patient with me. Someone on staff kindly took my luggage up to my room
Did not want to spend much money on a room. Wanted a hotel where breakfast would be included. Wanted a place centrally located and easy to reach on foot from the central bus station. This hotel met those criteria with a few caveats... Hotel Palantin is very old and has no elevator, with a steep flight of stairs just to reach the check-in on the second floor. It is ideal for students, those on tight budgets and those who would not struggle with luggage as they ascended 3 or 4 flights of stairs! As a 71-year-old woman on my own it might not have been the right place for me. I did not find air conditioning in the room, just a ceiling fan! Description for this hotel needs to pinpoint its location. I would NEVER have found it by its actual street address because the end of the street where it is located was fully hidden down an alleyway, not accessible by car. Promote Hotel Palatin as "Steps from intersection of King George & Yaffa Streets." Then I might have found it without walking several kms and more than an hour too far. Only the kindness of a stranger who knew the neighbourhood saved me.
3 out of 5
by Andi

Good value accommodation.

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very tiny but it had everything we needed. Great location. Shlomo at the front desk was awesome. He was very kind and helped plan our travel thru Jerusalem. Breakfast was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.C. USA

Nice Little hotel close to interesting places

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on CheapTickets
Good experience.Thanks to everyone there,expecially to Salomón
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Book elsewhere + This one needs a Lift

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
This location needs a lift -it's three sets of stairs just to the reception desk. The photos shown in their listings are not the representation of their rooms, only a few on the middle floor which were renovated appear like the photos used. Bathrooms are difficult, showers leak, mildew & pealing paint. Bed linens are comfortable. Cleaned just very run down, stained carpets & walls. Nice proprietor. New night shift staff rude, preoccupied all the time, takes forever to buzz people in at hotel entrance. Also, they used to have a coffee/tea/hot milk dispenser for guests in the dining room all day - their redeeming feature, but they started just unplugging it & telling people it's out of order (but then use it for their morning breakfast & tell people the same thing each day.) Air conditioning in individual rooms (not in public areas) was good. WiFi was good. TVs each room I've had needed fixing, did get fixed but each time at least one day was shot. Decent location for getting around, but dingier section (not owners fault of course.) 3 balconies for customers use on 3rd floor outside the Reception Desk & Dining Room. Dining Room used to be nice to relax in, read a newspaper, have a meal from an area shop when they had the coffee-tea-hot water-hot milk machine. Oh and the heavy construction out back is boomingly loud by 5-6am each day excepting Shabbat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Palatin Hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Located closed to the market and the tram. excellent Israeli breakfast included. Staff very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient position

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: A total refurb would be an excellent idea. Better carpets would help
Location: I don't know, it was a Jewish Holiday
You get what you pay for, and the price was reasonable for a central hotel on a Jewish Holiday.My room was small and tired with very basic fixtures, the bathroom toilet wasn't fitted straight and there was an old and brown hairdyer on the wall.