Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Andy63 from Edinburgh

Lovely Hotel and great views

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels
The spa was wonderful!
5 out of 5
by Stewart from Dunfermline

Superb Food

Posted Aug 3, 2013 on Hotels
The food served in the Orangery Restaurant was exceptional and the waiting staff were very natural and pleasant. Sea view suite was spacious although exceptionally warm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by C Temple from Wiltshire

Comfortable Stay

Posted Jun 23, 2013 on Hotels
Plenty of choice where to eat and drink and hotel staff very friendly. The views from the hotel are exceptional and surroundings relaxing. I was occupying a suite in B Block. Very comfortable and plenty of room. The only thing is every floor board creaks which must be annoying for those occupying rooms above I tried to keep as quiet as possible but unfortunately it is still noisy walking around other than that small problem everything else was just perfect and I would definitely recommend the hotel to friends and colleagues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by coco from Durham, County Durham, UK

Stayed overnight for a wedding celebration

Posted May 31, 2013
Pros: the Orangery is lovely. We ate there for lunch and breakfast whilst looking out onto the wonderful views of Arran.
Cons: The refurb work. We did have workmen outside our sea view room window which spoiled things slightly. This is only a temporary thing though
Location: Beautiful location.Fantastic views!
Stayed here for a wedding.Whilst it is clear a lot of work is ongoing to refurbish the hotel, both inside and outside, this did not detract from our stay.We stay in room 104 a suite, which had a sea view. This was a nice and spacious room, which was a relief, given some of the reviews, particularly as we only stayed overnight and had had a 4 hour drive to get there. The orangery was lovely and its service very good.The hotel is right on the beach so we were able to have a lovely walk after breakfast, prior to our return drive hone. We will definitely return to the hotel and enjoyed our stay there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Hamilton, South Lanarkshire, UK

Dont stay in room #62

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: The restaurant and leisure facilities
Cons: the poor condition of the rooms in the seaview extention
Location: the hotel has an excellent location on the sea front with easy access to the beach
Paid extra for a seaview room at this hotel and on arrival was placed in room #62 in the oddly named seaview extention. When looking out of the window the sea could only be glimpsed in the distance through a number of parked cars and a high fence surrounding a five a side football pitch/tennis court. This was however not the worst aspect of the room.It was smelly and had stained carpets and a passed its best bed. The furniture in the room was ancient and would be more in tone with a cheap Blackpool boarding house than a 4 star hotel.The bathroom had mouldy tiles around the shower area and the sink was cracked. Other than our bedroom the remainder of the Hotel was lovely and the service was good.
5 out of 5
by susan from skelmanthorpe

Fantastic Hotel

Posted May 29, 2013 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, very friendly and obliging staff. Our room was very clean and very well decorated. We ate in the restaurant and the seafood was outstanding. We will definitely go again .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our seamill stay

Posted May 23, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed at seamill after my friend got married there that day. The wedding staff were wonderful. I have fairly strict dietary requirements and after the bride emailed ahead of the wedding they were very accommodating, ensuring that I had a main meal like everyone else's but they also prepared me a different sauce and a fruit salad for dessert. Later on in the evening when the buffet was served they again brought me something else and I wasn't ever made to feel a nuisance. The rooms were lovely and the bar staff attentive remembering rounds etc. the only thing less than perfect was that the heat was belting out all night so the room was really hot, even with the windows open. Overall, lovely stay and the sea view was beautiful for a wedding. Thanks seamill x
4 out of 5
by Lynsey

Relaxing

Posted Mar 9, 2013 on Hotels
We had a lovely relaxing time here. If you are going for leisure and looking to relax definitely upgraded to a sea view room as the other rooms look out on to the cad park.
2 out of 5
by Davie from Lanarkshire, Scotland

Very disappointing

Posted Oct 7, 2012
Pros: The breakfast
Cons: the room
Location: picturesque
The hotel seems to have had a number of add-on extensions over the years, which means that the quality of fixtures and fittings varies widely between the different annexes. We only stayed one night and didn't have time to use the leisure facilities. The main reception area and adjacent restaraunt were in good condition however, the room we were allocated which was in an adjoining annexe was in poor condition. The room was very spacious with a large bathroom however, a significant upgrade is long overdue. The bathroom tiles had mildew on the grout and the bathroom sink had a large crack in it. The bed was a decent size, however, I would guess that the mattress was 20 years old. The breakfast was very good and service efficient. The restaraunt appeared to have been recently modernised. The hotel location is picturesque with stunning views of Arran. The Hotel however, overall was very disappointing from a comfort point of view - which is probably reflected in the generous 3 star rating.