Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet house set in own grounds

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Very beautiful house with lovely drive and grounds set back from road so nice and quiet Extremely friendly welcome and a hearty cooked breakfast to set you up for the day I would highly recommend a stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

A much nicer class of B & B

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The setting was superb.
Cons: A more powerful shower would have been nice.
Location: Location very good as we were only a short distance from the wedding venue we were attending.
Gill is very welcoming.friendly, informative, and interested in her guests. The house is beautiful, our bedroom was very comfortable with good bed linen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting....

Posted May 26, 2017
Stayed for 1 night, beautiful house, lovely setting. Bit disappointed, not possible to have breakfast as we had to leave at 7.30. We requested to be left a 'little something'...were left cereal/fruit/a few dry biscuits...no tea/coffee, no bread (a toaster would have been nice?) No meat/cheese etc. So only had orange juice, nothing else. Only had enough milk sachets in room for one cup of tea each the night before (which we had to request), so could not make a hot drink in the morning. Loved the room, the beds were so comfy....shame about breakfast, as apart from that it was really lovely....very peaceful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted May 10, 2017
Old building with quirks, but character. Very convenient to train
5 out of 5
by Paula

Friendly and accommodating / dog friendly

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely friendly welcome and excellent breakfast the next day. Very accommodating to my dog and early start.
4 out of 5
by Rachael

Lovely Stay

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Purchased a room for my parent to stay whilst they watched the 6 nations. They both thoroughly enjoyed it , commenting on the large room and bed as well as the kind staff member who gave them a lift due to the rain!
5 out of 5
by Karl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kevin

A night in the country

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
We were a group of 4 looking for somewhere near Edinburgh, but due to the rugby and most places we Were booked up. as we had the car the 15th minute drive want a problem.2 of us arrived early as we had to check in and then we'd be out all day, found the hotel no problem, looked splendid in is grounds. We Were greeted by Jill , everything was explained, we we abhorrent to our rooms, this is a very old house with lots of character the beds were really comfortable, the home made breakfast was just what you needed, would certainly recommend to any one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Character Hotel close to Edinburgh

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Warm and friendly welcome it was like visiting family!
Location: Edinburgh is about 12 miles away so a short drive but there is a station close by which is inexpensive and gets you into the city quite regularly.
We stayed for two nights during the Festival and Tattoo. Wonderful old house set in beautifully manicured gardens. The owner was very friendly and helpful and gave us a key to come and go as we pleased. We arrived home late on the first night to find the curtains drawn and light on for us in the bedroom. Breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent coffee! Our bedroom was very spacious and en-suite with the bathroom opposite the room. The bed and pillows were so comfy, we slept really well on both nights. We both agreed that this felt like a visit to a relative as we felt very welcome and at home. For those requiring dust free and sterile hotels, this wouldn't be for you but we loved the place and would certainly stay again and recommend to friends.