Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Nice hotel but food issues

Posted Feb 13, 2018
The hotel was nice enough but first thing on arrival my wife had to completely remake the bed as it looked to have been just thrown together, We ate in the bar because the restaurant was fully booked. When our food arrived the Burger did not have the cheese and bacon as per the menu and the naan bread to accompany the curry was like a stone. On trying to find someone to tell them about our issues I tried twice without being able to find a staff member. I know it was supposed to be a 4 star hotel but £14.50 for a curry that clearly came from a jar and an inedible naan bread was quite ridiculous. This was supposed to be a small treat to ourselves but will stick to supposed lesser hotels in future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Widnes

Comfortable and relaxing

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Always a good stay.. Staff friendly & helpful.. While rooms comfy the bathrooms could do with a bit of freshen up
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 31, 2017
We were very happy with the overall attention and all services of the Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lincoln England

Nice but dated.

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Pool and gym facilities.
Cons: Upgrading of windows, doors and some room facilities.
Location: It's close to Edinburgh, what else is there to say.
Very good staff struggling with the hotels outdated conditions. In our room, the basin tap was almost falling off, the towel rail didn't work and the WiFi could not be accessed, also the card door pass keys only working for 24 hours which meant returning to the reception every day to reboot them. Pool and gym facilities were very good as were all the staff.
5 out of 5
by Debra from Mn, USA

Beautiful inn

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was lovely, the room was spacious and very well maintained, the breakfast was good. Shops and the railway station were a close drive away. The grounds were extensive and beautiful, but I wish there had been a nice walking path through them. We had some obnoxious neighbors who were slamming doors late at night, but not the hotel's fault.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Houston House

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable good size room. Excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Eamonn

Posted Oct 4, 2017 on Hotels
Always a good choice to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: The staff and the character of the hotel. Lovely big bedrooms with a lovely en-suite.
Cons: The bedroom is a bit dull and musty!
Location: The location is very peaceful not sure what there is nearby as I had a car and was just visiting friends.
Very comfortable stay in a lovely hotel, staff all very helpful and friendly. Would love to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Widnes

Staff great - cleanliness an issue

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Given access to room.. Wasn't cleaned.. Changed room & this one hadn't had its bins emptied - nappies still in them.. Did get a free drink... Hey ho...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in a quiet area with Friendly staff

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: I like the quiet setting and the spacious rooms
Cons: I would consider having lifts in some areas. Not currently convenient for the disabled or elderly or family with young children. Maybe sound proofin
Location: Fairly short drive from Airport. But there is a nice Garden Centre and big ASDA and Outlet shopping with restaurants not too far away.
We had a lovely weekend stay at the hotel, family of 5. The staff were quite friendly and welcoming.