Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yungaburra

Good spot to stop and break the joyrney

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: The restaurant and the swim and the staff were very friendly
Cons: The rooms need a revamp
Location: We only stayed for the night and went for a swim but lots to see between Alice and Glen Helen
We knew it was going to be very basic and basic it was but it was somewhere to have a shower and a bed but the restaurant food was fantastic. We arrived, checked in and then took the short walk up to the swimming hole. The water was cold at first but was lovely once in and it was great after driving all day.Pity we didnt take a beer and wine up with us. Had dinner at the restaurant- fantastic. The staff is lovely and very helpful. The accommodation is very dated but served the purpose. If a little money was spent it could be a fantastic spot but everything is tidy and clean.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Captive audience

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Location is everything! We wanted to stay at Glen Helen and it is the only place there. Expensive for the condition of the rooms, but would stay again because it is the only place available. Staff was very friendly and helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2016
The Glen Helen lodge is a nice and very friendly place in the outback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Don't be fooled by the word Resort

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Great location right on the Gorge and the homestead has historic interest.
Location: Great walks nearby
The Glen Helen Resort is in a spectacular location and is the only hotel in the West Macs. Sadly the hotel is run down, leaking shower rose, no tea/coffee facilities in the room. This would be OK is the price was reasonable but $175pn - I expected more. But the staff are friendly and there is tea and coffee in the main dining area. The night I stayed the restaurant was short staffed so the service was slow and the food was cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2015 by Shelagh, Hotel Management
Dear Sally thanks for your review. We know all about the need to upgrade our motel facilities, and as leasehold owners we do what we can. we have applied for a grant for bathroom upgrades, and our landlord is beginning some upgrades too, finally. Our charges seem high for simple rooms, but our costs operating out here are enormous! There is only bore water in the motel rooms, so there is no point trying to make tea and coffee there, that is why we do it in the homestead and also offer an outdoor tea and coffee station for early morning coffees. We have just had a change of Chef after four years and had a couple of nights where our temp chef struggled with the service, but this is resolved now with a new permanent chef commenced. I am sorry you experienced slow service, it is certainly our goal to serve meals quickly and generally we succeed Kind regards shelagh O'brien
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from canada

Convenient to outback hiking

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Location: Hike the McDonnell mountains and swim in the gorges. Only accommodation en route to Kings Canyon.
Friendly helpful owners, rooms are basic but met all our needs, notably air con, clean rooms. Close to all the hiking trails that we had come to walk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

Dîner succulent, PDJ pas à la hauteur

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Son aspect décalé au milieu d'un très beau site
Cons: Le PDJ basique, produits sensibles à réfrigérer car beaucoup de mouches
Location: Situé dans l'outback, visite des gorges et canyons environnants, aperçu de la piste : kangourous, chevaux sauvages, oiseaux, rapaces, etc..
Lieu désuet, chambre correcte, excellent dîner et PDJ basique
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

einfaches Hotel in guter Lage

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Küche und Speisekarte
Location: Sehr gute Ausgangslage für die westliche Mac Donnells
Das Hotel ist einfach, netter, kleiner Pool. Völlig unerwartet die wirklich sehr gute Küche und eine Weinkarte welche man nicht erwarten würde. Die hausgemachten Gnocci aus Süsskartoffeln waren sehr gut.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Heidelberg

Sehr einfache Unterkunft als Zwischenstopp

Posted May 26, 2016
Die Lage der Lodge ist ideal als Zwischenstopp zwischen Kings Canyon und Alice Springs. Die Zimmer sind wirklich sehr einfach eingerichtet. Das Bad müsste dringendst renoviert werden. Zum Teil kaputte Fensterscheiben einfach geklebt. Bettwäsche offensichtlich frisch gewaschen, trotzdem Flecken. Service war ok. Überraschend sehr gute Küche! Das Abendessen war fantastisch!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel d'un autre temps

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: Le restaurant
Cons: Hotel a refaire complètement
Chambre désuète mal entretenue bruyante salle de bain usagée café payant au petit déjeuner!!