Ratings based on 15,827 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great hotel but rooms are old

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Casino, restaurants, pool
Cons: Rooms are outdated
Amazing facility, with great casino and big and fun swimming pools! Hotel rooms large but quite old and not super clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hialeah, FL

Nice hotel but check in process is a nightmare

Posted Aug 13, 2017
So i had to go to this hotel for a convention and decided to stay at it for convenience of not having to drive from elsewhere to go to the convention. I arrive and there is a 3 hour wait to check in about 16 computers in the lobby for check in and only 3 staff members. So we finally arrive its our turn. Staff was nice and they tell us sorry for the lengthy wait we are going to upgrade your suite for 3 nights out of the 6 on the reservation. Ok great, so we get a amazing suite as a comp for the wait, until day 3 where we have to switch to our regular room. Let me tell you 1 it sucks to have to pack to switch rooms and 2 now i had to make a 4 hour line to get the new room keys ridiculous and then you would think sorry for the wait of 4 ours just stay in your current room. Nope sorry for your wait here is your new room 4 hours later. The new room was nice its what we had orihinally reserved so that was fine but man the wait at check in was ridiculous i wasted basically 8 hours of my day checking in twice. Then during the convention the CO or CEO of the hotel went to apologize to everyone for that horrible experience and offered to comp back 1 night from all the reservations. But guess what since i booked through Expedia they could not comp the night only 1 night resort fee. A whopping $34 lucky me (sarcasm) because they say they dont know how much the night was. Common sense would tell you to check the average going rate for a night in that weeks reservation and comp that but no
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philly

Rooms are huge and amazing

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Dealers could be more friendly. They all look miserable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, canada

registration

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: no comment
Cons: better hotel registration service...more receptionist... give coupons/vouchers...
Location: no comment
long waiting to be check-in. I was the 6th family from the top of check-in line on Aug 6 night at 10:45pm ; however it took me 45 mins to be my check-in. There were only 2 receptionist only serving for very long line-up. Yes, there are 8 self check-in/check -out machine but none of them is working ??? Even though we were on the top of the long line but 1 one receptionist was always called and helped those lining-up on the Seven Star/VIP...services. I saw the same long line-up again with 3 receptionist only on aug 7,8 at 7pm....it was very bad situation No coupons/voucher giving to customers...such as half price for buffets...or shows
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible stay at rio we had bed bugs

Posted Aug 8, 2017
We found bed bugs and went down to the hotel manager and all they did was switch our room. We requested a refund to stay at another hotel and they told us we will have to wait for two weeks for a bed bug investigation. The manager was not helpful or accommodating at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from columbia,sc

Older hotel off the strip

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Stayed here during STLV2017 convention. Check in was easy enough, lots of elevators available to get you up to the rooms which was nice (impanea tower) . Room was definitely outdated but very clean and big.(floor 20) Housekeeping staff were the nicest people we talked to that worked there. They do not have 24 hr room service like expedia states. 5am-11am and 5pm-11pm and it is essentially take-out not room service. We ate at almost every restaurant there including the buffet, overall id give them a 3.5 out 5. Did not get to try voodoo steak, heard it was good though. Download grub hub and order what you want instead!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

We will be choosing another hotel next time

Posted Aug 8, 2017
I was incredibly unimpressed with this hotel. We arrived at around midnight and waited for one hour to receive a room with no sheets, an industrial fan blowing on the floor, and smelled badly of urine. We turned right around to receive a new room that was not what we ordered way in advanced online, but was comfortable and we were very tired. However, it rained while we stayed in this room and the windows leaked so bad we had to use all available towels to help soak up the water. We called the front desk who assured us that maintenance would stop by, but no one ever came. I did like that it was quiet in the morning; we didn't hear things going on in the hallway and the cleaning staff were very friendly and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted Aug 7, 2017
The room was not very clean it was really dusty under the bed there was empty Gatorade bottles under the bed that was not ours we called the front desk have somebody clean it up and change your sheets since we didn't know if the room has been cleaned since it was so dirty we left for the day and when we came back that night they made the bed but they didn't change our sheets they didn't clean under the bed they didn't clean the Gatorade bottle up We had to call again for somebody to come and change the sheets and clean up the room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manitoba, Canada

Poor location

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Phone didn't work on checking in booked for 8 nights. They finally offered to move me on the last night I was there ffs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with several excellent restaurants

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Layout is confusing sometimes.
Location: Located just off the strip, so everything is accessible.
Stayed at Rio & rented a BMW motorcycle for 3-4 day trips outside of Vegas. Hotel was easy to get to and close to the action. Easy to catch a ride with taxi, Uber or Lyft. Usually stayed in for dinner as they have several excellent restaurants on site.