Ratings based on 663 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Compton Ca

No worries

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Arrived at the wrong Extended America. But no worries, the receptionist said she would handle the paperwork and gave us an upgrade from the queen size room we reserved to a king size room. I was very pleased with my room and stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Renee, thank you for being our guest and for taking time to review your experience at Extended Stay America. It's so nice to know you found your suite comfortable and you were pleased with the exceptional service from our staff. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth experience

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Nothing!
It was my worth experience I have ever had in the State. you will not receive any services for 7 days. Everything was dirty or broken, such as Ironi, refrigerator, ... Make sure you do have Towel and clean sheet if you are going to stay there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies for your unpleasant experience during your visit. As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, we are very sorry your room fell short of your expectations. We have checklists in place to inspect every suite after it has been serviced. We will revisit our deep cleaning program so that we can provide a much better experience in the future. We hope you will consider a future stay as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Pretty dirty

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I'm personally not recommended the staff is friendly, but the room is so dirty.(bathroom not clean,shower dirty and the shower curtain stinks,the beds with hair,the carpet with a spots and signs the something droop off at the floor and not clean!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Adriana, please accept our apologies for your unpleasant experience during your visit. As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, we are very sorry your room fell short of your expectations. We have checklists in place to inspect every suite after it has been serviced. We will revisit our deep cleaning program so that we can provide a much better experience in the future. We hope you will consider a future stay as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Limited service

Posted Sep 8, 2017
This is very much a budget hotel, so if you keep that in mind, you might not be as disappointed as I was. My room was not cleaned once during my two night stay, not sure if that was part of the deal or not. When a business associate tried to call my room, the hotel lobby told them to 'call back later' rather than connecting us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Although you were pleased with our affordable rates, we are sorry we missed meeting some of your expectations while you were here. Kindly be familiar, our housekeeping is done on a weekly basis to respect the privacy of our guests and offer minimal intrusion, and is available upon request at a nominal fee. We are sorry if you were not communicated properly about this. We hope to have another chance so we can deliver you a much better experience. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Across the street from Nike campus

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Walk to work at Nike in 10 min's. Walking distance to Fred Meyer and some fast food restaurants. Centrally located to drive anywhere in Beaverton.
Cons: I can't think of one right now. I don't have high standards and stayed alone so no prob's.
Location: Not much to do nearby. Have a car.
My room was on the second floor and the A/C had to be on the whole stay because it would get very warm otherwise. Kitchen utensils are available and clean. You leave your dirty dishes out the maid service will take them to be cleaned -- or just buy dish detergent! Staff was nice, at least the front desk that I mostly spoke with. Get great prices online rather than direct from the desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Kyle, thank you for choosing to stay at Extended Stay America. We are delighted to read you had an enjoyable, comfortable stay and our location was perfect for your needs. We appreciate you being our guest and look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Good overall

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Only stayed for one night. Windows are in an awkward place, right next to the path where people can see inside your room very easily, so we didn't open the curtains. There were stains in the carpet. Bed was pretty comfortable besides the fact that your blanket is super thin. Not much of a blanket, more like a tablecloth. AC was very nice. Cute kitchen. TV with good channel selections. Lighting is not the best. You have to turn on like 5 lamps for the room to be lit since there isn't a main light. Overall pretty good. It was comfortable and cool. Not a perfect place but perfect for what we needed for one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America. We are pleased to know you had an enjoyable time with us and were impressed with your comfortable bed. We appreciate your observations and have taken a note of it. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, Washington

Pet friendly

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was a short stay. I had my daughter and her friend with me. I wasn't impressed with the cleanliness of the room. Toothpaste on the mirror, a previous guests clothes were in the drawer. Otherwise it was ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Please accept my apologies for the experience you shared in your feedback. I was disappointed to see that you felt your accommodations were not clean. We take pride in providing a clean, fresh environment for our guest and I am sorry we overlooked something during your stay. I will discuss your feedback with my staff to ensure this does not occur in the future. I do hope you will give us another chance the next time your travels bring you our way. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Frightening

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Windows boarded up, scary people staying at the hotel. Didn't make it through the night. We decide to leave and drive the rest of the way home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Matt, please accept my apology as we are not been able to provide you with a stay you expected. Please know I will personally follow up on your concerns with my team so that our future guests do not encounter the same. Please consider us again so that we can restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with the hospitality you should always expect from us. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel Close to Tennis Center

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Clean firm bed and room, right location, nothing fancy, don't need it anyways
Cons: My kid found one hair on the floor in the bathroom, but otherwise quite clean.
Location: Right next to restaurants and tennis facilities.
Nothing special, but very clean, and firm beds (always important to me). Bathroom was clean, but could have been just a smidgen cleaner we felt. Would have been good to have at least one set of silverware and cups in the room, but room service brought them immediately, so just as good. Staff was excellent!! Location perfect. Safe. For the price, excellent really.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your being our guest at Extended Stay America. It’s nice to know our location was convenient for your needs and that you enjoyed the service delivered by our helpful associates and the great value we offer. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the honor of hosting you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Altadena, CA

Easy access to grocerystores, gas stations, etc.

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: The location met my needs.
Cons: I should have been informed that daily mad service was not available. I bought my own cleaning supplies.
Location: Plenty of shopping; close to freeway to beaches.
The facility was easy to locate. The staff were friendly and easy to access.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Kimberly, thanks for your feedback. We are happy to read you had an overall pleasant visit and liked our location. That being said, we apologize if our housekeeping services were not shared with you at check-in. While our housekeeping service is designed for long-term guests, offering minimal intrusion to their home-like stay, we are happy to offer this service to you at a minimal fee. We're pleased you chose our hotel for your visit, and hope you will stay with us again so we can make it up to you. Sincerely, General Manager