Ratings based on 1,115 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2018
It’s very neat and clean. The staff is really nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Guest Relations PepperTree Inn, Hotel Management
Your review is appreciated! We were pleased to read that you were so happy with your stay. We hope that The PepperTree will be your first choice for lodgings whenever you get a chance to return to Beaverton.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaverton, OR

The stay was great

Posted Jan 9, 2018
The stay was great. Friendly staff. Continental breakfast was good with the waffles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Guest Relations PepperTree Inn, Hotel Management
Your feedback is important to us! We were happy to see that your time with us was so enjoyable. We were pleased to read that you had a positive experience with our hospitality associates and that our complimentary breakfast service was to your liking. We appreciate you choosing The PepperTree and we look forward to serving you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chico, CA

Close to my sons house

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: It's close to my sons house and they have great coffee in the morning
Cons: Nothing
I always stay here when I drive up to visit my son. It's an older property but it's clean and beds are really comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Guest Relations PepperTree Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing about your experience at The PepperTree! We were glad to read that you enjoy staying with us. We were also pleased to see that the accommodations provided have met your expectations, that our coffee is to your liking, and that our location is convenient for your visits with family. We appreciate your continuing patronage. If there is ever anything you feel we could be doing different or better please do not hesitate to let us know.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beaverton, or

Acceptable

Posted Dec 9, 2017
We needed a reasonably priced place to stay while our carpet was replaced. This fit the bill. It suffers a bit from aging. The floor and bed both squeak. The breakfast could use more protein alternatives. There is nothing useful in walking distance. But all in all, it met our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Guest Relations PepperTree Inn, Hotel Management
We appreciate your review! We were happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. The ownership knew when they took over an older property that it would need renovation to reach its fullest potential. The remodeling plan is in progress, and we will continue to update the facilities and the amenities to provide the best hospitality experience for all of our patrons. Feedback from our guests is important to guide us in our efforts. Thank you for choosing The PepperTree. We look forward to serving you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Enumclaw, WA

Nice hotel if you don't mind multiple cop visits

Posted Nov 20, 2017
As soon as I arrived I realized I had made a mistake. I trusted customer reviews. That's the last time I'll look at customer reviews the same away again. You need to realize that a 5 star customer rating does not = a 5 star hotel. If the Hilton is a 4 star and the Holiday Inn is a 3 star, then this "3.2 star" model is a 2 star. It is no Holiday Inn. Located in Beaverton this is old - 70s old. The pictures made me think, "Nice updated local hotel." But it's not. It is cheap finishings in a dated motel that badly needs work. The mattress are horrible cheap. Patches in the drywall where water once leaked through ceilings not repainted. Carpet that is loose on the floor. Cracks in the vanity. Located in a dark industrial area near the highway it's loud. Add to this that this area of Beaverton is a pit of older strip malls and long boulevards of pool halls, bars and pawn shops. Too many iron bars in windows. When we arrived I saw men of somewhat questionable looking character standing around outside leading my 16 yr old son to ask, "How much was this hotel?" If he notices, you know something's off. Then after I dropped my son off at the nearby hockey rink for a game, I noticed I forgot something back at the hotel. So I returned to get it only to see that there were 3 cop cars at the hotel. One was in the lobby while 2 other circled the premises. That's when I knew, this is no 3 star motel. Don't skimp! Pay the extra $25 and get a nicer safe place for you & your loved ones.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Guest Relations PepperTree Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us! We regret that your stay was less pleasant than you had hoped. We will continue to press forward with our renovation work here to update and beautify the hotel. However we are unable to remodel the entire neighborhood to your liking, petition the government to reroute the highway, wish "questionable looking" people out of existence, or to order law enforcement to send only one officer at a time when someone calls them for help, so it is doubtful we will ever be in a position to offer you accommodations that will meet with your approval. So we wish you the best in finding alternative lodgings elsewhere on your next visit to the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Rooms are dated including furniture, drapery and carpets. The rooms need to be updated with new fresh surfaces including paint, carpet furniture and drapery.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Guest Relations PepperTree Inn, Hotel Management
Your input is important to us! Renovation of the property is a work in progress. We are anticipating a great deal of work being done over the winter season and we are excited to have our patrons enjoy the results. We look forward to welcoming you back to The PepperTree on your next visit to Beaverton.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible service

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Stayed 1 night Room 101 Floor was dirty and stained Was kept up until 11 by loud noises At 4 am I was woken up by loud banging Had to call office from cell phone because phone in room had no directory Was told by front desk that there was an issue with water heater which makes loud banging noise I ask if this was the best room to put me in and was offered to be moved to a new room at 4 am I declined because I was in my sleeping clothes and didn’t want to have to move everything which would be inconvenient Front desk said I would be accommodated for my troubles At check out did not get accommodated. Paid full price and a manager never got in touch with me Very unhappy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Guest Relations PepperTree Inn, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion! We were sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay and the customer care that you received. All of our patrons deserve to receive accommodations that are clean and comfortable where they can rest and relax. We failed to provide you with the kind of hospitality experience that you had hoped for and for that we would like to extend to you our sincere apologies. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Your comments have been forwarded to the ownership for review. We will do our best to see that this issue is resolved in a timely fashion. Even if you should seek lodgings at another property, we hope that you will continue to visit our beautiful city often.
2 out of 5
by joni

Noisy

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
Older hotel. Very loud, so loud no sleep. Wish I would have known before booking
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Jay, Hotel Management
Your input is important to us! We were sorry to see that you did not enjoy your time with us. Was the noise from off property or from another room? Were our staff made aware that you were being disturbed? Were they unable to alleviate the problem for you? We apologize that your stay was not what you had hoped it would be. We hope that this experience has not discouraged you from visiting Beaverton in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs improvement

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
Don't stay in room 112. It's a dump. Got moved to room 111. It was much better. The whole place needed updating. Isolated motel on a busy street. Next door a vacant lot with tons of weeds. Close to the shopping i needed but only by car. Have to say Carlton was great. He tried to resolve all my issues in 112 and when that failed he switched me to 111, a much better room. The man deserves a raise!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Jay, Hotel Management
We value your feedback! We were pleased to read that you were impressed by the service you received from one of our fine hospitality associates. However we were sorry to see that your first toom turned out to be so unsatisfactory for you. Since the current ownership has taken over the hotel remodeling has been an ongoing project, but in order to avoid shutting down the property entirely we are having to do a few rooms at a time which means that sometimes the pace of improvement is not as quick as we would wish. We will continue to work hard to resolve such issues as they arise, and we appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. We hope we will have the chance to serve you again at The PepperTree.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis

Conveniently located near major roadway

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Great free breakfast with lots of options!!
Cons: Lighting in rooms One of the beds had a 2X4 under the box spring which was projecting out Working phone with directory/instructions TV channel guide
Location: I was happy with the location just of road #217
Though the room was quite comfortable, lighting was extremely poor. Only opening the drapes provided sufficient light to find things in the suitcase. Our in-room telephone did not work. Front desk was notified, but the problem was not corrected during our 2-day stay. The parking lot was being treated over the weekend, making parking near our room impossible during part of our stay - a slight inconvenience. One of the beds had a 2X4 under the box spring which was projecting out several inches from the bed - a tripping & injury hazard Mattresses were not covered with protective material to keep them sanitary.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Guest Relations PepperTree Inn, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments! We were pleased to read to read that you enjoyed your stay. We were glad to see that our location was convenient to your needs and that the complimentary breakfast was to your liking. We were sorry to see that you did encounter some problems during your time with us, and that some of those issues remained unresolved by our staff before you checked out. We apologize that these matters were not attended to in a more timely manner. We strive to always be improving not just our facilities but our quality of service and frank and honest feedback from our valued patrons is always our best compass on where we should focus our efforts. Thank you for letting us know abou these issues, we will do our best to see that they are taken care of. We look forward to serving you again at The PepperTree.